Aaron Beach's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Aaron’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • I am a researcher/teacher at University of Colorado, othe...
  • Currently in second year of Ph.D. program
  • From Denver, CO
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Pick a place to get off the bus/train, and start walking. Go into every interesting place you see, talk to every interesting person you meet, and generally try new things. Ultimately, eXcursion into the nooks and crannies of this mountain metropolis

ABOUT ME

I am in a Computer Science PhD program at the University of Colorado - what this means is that the University pays me to do research or teaching to think about sensor networks, linguistics, and social networking. What this also means, is I am a poor professional student. I own a house in Westminster. I usually ride the bus and light rail everywhere (since it's free for students)

PHILOSOPHY

I'm an experimentalist who tends to go about my experimentation with a real vengeance: having no prospects of being published, I am usually quick to give up didactic concerns altogether, which eventually costs me even my limited audience of a few cognoscenti. Frequently, my only solace is a bottle, my only hope, to be compared by a scholar in some west german magazine to Uwe Johnson. In part because my work is utterly untranslatable, in part because I am usually employed by an institution doing some classified scientific research with military applications, I don't entertain thoughts about emigrating. Eventually, I will abandon my artistic pursuits

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting them, feeding them food I find interesting, sharing experiences -- and Denver/Boulder is truly my playground and I know how to and where to do anything in the area.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I never did it before... didn't know about it 'till recently.

Interests

  • dining
  • walking
  • bouldering
  • computer science
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite Authors::
Joseph Brodsky, Milan Kundera, Harry G. Frankfurt, Anna Akhmatova, W.H. Auden, McSweeney's, N+1, New Yorker, Mark Kurlansky

Favorite Directors::
Wong Kar Wai, Werner Herzog, Wes Anderson, Andrei Tarkovsky, Terrence Malick, Zhang Yimou, Guy Ritchie

Favorite Musicians::
Bob Dylan, NIN, Rage Against the Machine, Mina Agossi, Madelaine Peyroux, Cassandra Wilson, Sigur Ros, Devotchka, Charles Mingus, Gunther, Benny Benassi, Simian Mobile Disco, Armin Van Buuren, Autumn Film, Erykah Badu, EPMD, BDP

Favorite TV Shows::
Star Trek TNG, Black Adder, Fawlty Towers, Little Britain, This American Life, TV is opiate of the masses - I have not owned a TV in 6 years

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Macedonia, Mexico, Netherlands, Panama, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Aaron’s full profile. It’s free!