Anja Goossens's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anja’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 29 References 25 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Afrikaans, French, German
  • 45, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • self employed
  • university
  • From Berlaar, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Never regret. If it's good, it's fantastic, if it's bad, it's experience!

ABOUT ME

Happiness is for me: being with a bunch of nice people, talking life and the universe, aided by a bottle of something nice( Belgian beer always scores well) and some nice food. I love to cook for people, love to try new food myself. I am quite an active person and am currently planning my final leg of walking Kungsleden in July!! I love cycling, walking, running, swimming. I haven't got a TV so I either exercise or read. I read whatever people give me or where ever my mood takes me. I love detective thrillers. I prefer fiction. Love cinema and theatre. I am a firm believer of trying to be as green as possible( although flying to China is not that helpful)and am organic and health aware. I am still human though and like to think I don't do extremes very well... .I love languages and different cultures.Deep inside me though, there is still the leftover of that Trekkie: to boldly go where no one has gone before...! Of course: no smoking allowed. I have no pets.

PHILOSOPHY

"The difference between the impossible and the possible lies in a person's determination."M. Navratilova.
I want to see where my limits are, explore my talents or just have a go at it for the sake of trying.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I hope to help people exploring the area where I live and also share my Belgian heritage.CS is also about sharing my house and thus saying " thank you" for having one!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Generally, due to my busy lifestyle, I would say I am more of a host than a surfer...))
Only surfed twice myself and that was with CS-ers that I already knew from staying with me, so I feel that was a bit of a cheat and more staying with a friend...

Interests

As mentioned earlier: the Great Outdoors,sports in general( especially running, cycling and hiking) reading, eating and cooking, talking, philosophy,the arts(love drawing with charcoal), theatre, film,photography, people and cultures,...
recently developed an interest in playing the ukelele!
backpacking, backpacking, backpacking...!
currently, I seem to be going through a spiritual phase( don't worries, am not a religious fanatic!!))) ) thus my pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostella!
Very fond of food and cooking.I love introducing people to traditionally Belgian food and equally love to hear about your family recipe/ traditional food! I make nice Belgian waffles...:)
Currently, my life is in the middle of big changes as I have applied for adoption and am in the middle of the process. Can be pretty nerve wrecking!
I love my little garden and watching the birds. I'm hoping to get more involved with an allotment so I can have wonderful home grown produce to cook with! Is this a mid life crisis???:)

  • pets
  • birds
  • arts
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • exercise
  • marathon
  • running
  • walking
  • partying
  • flying
  • gardening
  • movies
  • reading
  • tv
  • eating out
  • drawing
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • sports
  • swimming
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Wide variety of music and nothing in particular.Very much mood dependent.No techno type however as this gets on my nerves.
I love a good thriller, romantic comedy, action film,SF(am a bit of a Trekkie by heart...). No horror and limited fantasie.One of my favorite films must be the remains of the day and the king's speech. I like films directed by Clint Eastwood.
I absolutely love books, especially English books. I feel I have died and gone to Heaven having the whole of Worthing library to my disposal! Historic novels, detective thrillers, general fiction, name it and i'll have a go. Biographies or true life stories need some persuading but I'll have a go if it comes recommended!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Walking the Great Wall for a week.
Jigger Johnson Campsite in New England in a 30ft RV: awesome!
Celebrating my birthday in the woods of New England and a year later in China! We brought our own cake into the restaurant and shared it out for longevity!!
Stood eye to eye with a black bear while walking West Coast Trail.
Teach English to 4y old Chinese children.
Sit on top of the South Downs on a lovely summer's day with a pic nic and watch the sun go down...
going to a birthday party for someone who turned 106!!!
to lie on a red fluffy carpet with my 2.5y old niece, pretending we were pirates gazing up at the stars!
Walking 500 miles to Santiago de Compostella. My life will never be the same...

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to talk about Belgium, England. I love languages, would love to learn Chinese/ Japanese. Happy to talk about first time training for a marathon to people who are not natural runners but just determined like me! Passionate about trekking and sleeping under canvas! Love to cook for people!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, China, Cuba, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Anja’s full profile. It’s free!