Abby Ring's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 22 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Abby’s full profile.

Overview

  • 31 references 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • community development
  • sociology + Africana studies @ Vassar College
  • From Seattle, WA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

* My husband Shaun is https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/shaun-ring and we travel together. I'm introducing him to CS this year so please forgive his brand-new profile. *

Instagram about our travels: Instagram.com/shabbyadventures ✈️ 🌎

I am very proud to say that I've been a member since 2012, and Couchsurfing has truly changed my life. I've been fortunate to both surf and host many more times on a roommmate's profile or in old-fashioned ways not facilitated by this website, like meeting a cool family on a bus in Panama, or living in homestays during study abroad, or wanting to bring a group of teenagers to a social justice conference and not being able to afford a hotel so the conference organizers kindly set us up with their parents. I’m also very active in my local Buy Nothing community, which I think has some similar values. Genuinely, I think I would be a different person if I hadn't had these kinds of opportunities.

My husband and I both left our jobs recently and will spend the first five months of 2023 traveling, first internationally and then on an 8-week road trip around the United States. We would be honored to get to meet up with you or surf with you along the way.

I lived in a very rural town for six years before moving to Manhattan in 2020. I work in non-profit organizations doing program development. I led a bilingual leadership program for immigrant high school students, started an interfaith intentional living community for recent college graduates, started a youth philanthropy program, and more projects that really try to connect people to what matters most-- community and belonging.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I mean, this just makes so much sense for a healthy society. see my blog post about homestays here from way back in 2012 when I was still in college: http://estoesafrica.tumblr.com/post/23095193966/homestays-or-when-you-sleep-at-a-strangers-house

Interests

I have been a vegetarian my entire life. Fortunately, my husband eats everything.

  • vegetarian
  • jewish
  • hinduism
  • ashtanga
  • episcopal
  • iyengar

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

met all yall lovelies on couchsurfing! taught guatemalan immigrant teenagers in the states, and then stayed with their families in guatemala. ~~~ survived a government propaganda trip ~~~ studied witchcraft as a way to fight a land grab in cameroon. ~~~ led trips to developing countries for high school students. ~~~ drank chai tea seven times a day in gujarat.~~~ soared at manakamana in nepal before the earthquake happened. ~~~ figured out how to do headstands.~~~ translated for lawyers and doctors when not qualified to do so. ~~~ worked full-time for a church despite not being christian.~~~ gone to immigration court in america (wtf).~~~ driven across the states in five days.~~~ started meditating :) ~~~ live in a rural town for six years!~~~ survived(ing) topical steroid withdrawal ~~~ moved to new york city in the middle of the pandemic.

Teach, Learn, Share

I speak Spanish fluently and French well enough. I used to teach yoga professionally. I always appreciate when someone wants to help me learn to cook vegetarian dishes. I also need to learn about dog training!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'll teach you how to do a headstand! I have a lot of random other skills, too, just ask.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cameroon, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Ecuador, England, France, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Nepal, Nicaragua, Palestine, Panama, Peru, Puerto Rico, Senegal, Slovakia, Spain, Tunisia, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Abby’s full profile.

My Groups