Abhinav Shukla's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Abhinav’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Hindi; learning French, German, Romanian
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Software Engineer
  • Computer Science
  • From Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

Simple and open minded person. Easy to get along with. I'm generally quiet but very friendly. I love to make people laugh and I can have a conversation about almost any topic. I'm naturally curious about everything and I'm open to learning new things.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm interested in travelling many countries, and I feel it would be nice to make new friends while I'm there. I'm less interested in "tourist-y" spots and more interested in learning and immersing myself in the local culture and I feel the best way to do this would be to interact with the local people.

Interests

Avid lover of chocolates, wine, cooking, producing/composing music, video games & fitness. Outdoor activities include hiking mountains, kayaking / canoeing (though I'm a bit rusty now).

  • arts
  • culture
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • wine
  • baking
  • fitness
  • technology
  • video games
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • kayaking
  • science
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I'm open to listening to new things (yes, even Justin Beiber :P). My goto favourites are generally classical/jazz music, orchestral music and electronic music.

Movies: No specific movie stands out clear and cut above the rest.

Books: Quite a few to list. The latest one I enjoyed reading is called "Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking"

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Moved to Kelowna for ~3 months to work. My life took a small, but significant U-turn and I learnt a great many things I had been meaning to try out. The most amazing thing I did was baking a "brownie" type cake for ~10 people with 2 layers of glaze: a chocolate / hazelnut spread glaze (yes, sort of like nutella) and a thicker layer of dark chocolate ganache. People loved it, to my surprise. This was only the third time I had ever baked a cake.

Teach, Learn, Share

Anything related to technology and science, I can have endless discussions. Although I can teach some new ideas, I spend more time learning from others. Having lived on my own for ~10 years, I feel I have something different to share than others, considering where I grew up and how I spent time during my younger years.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Two things: Chocolates and my love for culinary arts. If you have a kitchen, I will definitely be cooking. Hopefully you'll join in the fun too.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Indonesia, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Abhinav’s full profile. It’s free!