Samuel Shepherd's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 28 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samuel’s full profile.


  • 10 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Sommelier
  • WSET; BFA with Honours, National Art School, Australia.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I live in Sydney, work in the wine/hospitality industry and love to try new things. I love eating and cooking, and talking to people about food, wine, spirits etc. I live for music, conversation, art, literature and travel. Passionate environmentalist, intersectional feminist, ally. I love to meet others, I love to learn, and to teach.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I couchsurfed a bit while travelling in Europe and traded stories and cooked for people almost everywhere I stayed. I hope I can return this experience to anyone surfing with me once I settle in back home. Surfing with different people in different places gave me a broadened and enriched travel experience.


I love painting, reading, nature, wine, walking everywhere, parties, cooking for people, deep conversation, dreaming, dogs (in fact, all animals). Have a bad habit of singing aloud publicly quite often. I love dancing. I love meeting new people. Going to galleries, cinemas and seeing live music are three things I could do endlessly. I love language but unfortunately I'm only a boring English speaker right now.. I'll do something about that though!

  • animals
  • dogs
  • arts
  • literature
  • singing
  • beauty
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • walking
  • partying
  • reading
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • live music
  • etymology

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies? I have a long list I'm always trying to conquer! Love experiencing a film with someone else so we can discuss it afterwards. Some favourite filmmakers are Charlie Kaufman, Jane Campion, David Lynch, Andrei Tarkovsky, Werner Herzog, Pier Paulo Passolini, Lars von Trier, Krzysztof Kieslowski..

Music? I love it, it is everything for me. I

Books? I have always been a reader, although I struggle for time to read, lately. Some authors special to me - Dostoevsky, John Fowles, Deborah Levy, Olivia Laing, Jene Genet, Umberto Eco, Margaret Atwood, Henry Miller, Franz Kafka, Kurt Vonnegut Jr..

Teach, Learn, Share

I can cook, cut hair quite well, paint, plus other random bits and pieces. Happy to share any part of my brain! Also if you wish to expand your English, I have a broad vocabulary and a good knowledge of etymology and diction. Good with accents.
I'm keen to learn too - Teach me your language!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United States

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Samuel’s full profile.