Joanna Delaney

Paris, Île-de-France, France

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 23% response rate
  • Last login about 22 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joanna’s full profile. It’s free!


  • English teacher
  • Working on a master's in linguistics
  • From Roanoke, VA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Please read my profile, and especially the "My Home" section, before you send your request! You must also have a well filled-out profile. If you have no information about yourself, no photos, and no references, then I have no information to help me decide if I'm comfortable having you stay in my home. Finally, please use the word “indubitably” somewhere in your request to show that you actually read my profile :D


Four years ago I came to Paris to study for a semester, and I loved it so much I decided to make it my home. I'm now working here as an English teacher and doing my master's degree in linguistics. I’m pretty easy-going and I love to go out partying and meet new people although I don’t have as much time for it now that I’m back in school. The previous Couchsurfing profile template included a section called "current mission", and I listed mine as "to live in the moment". I find that this gets harder as I get older and take on more responsibility, but traveling and participating in Couchsurfing helps remind me to embrace the spontaneity of life as much as I can.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I like to go to couchsurfing meetups around the city to meet new people and hang out with other Paris couchsurfers. Whenever I travel I try to couchsurf instead of staying in a hotel, because couchsurfing lets me get a more authentic experience of the cities and towns I visit. I haven't hosted yet , although I'm looking forward to starting now that I finally have my own apartment.


I've couchsurfed a couple of times, and my hosts were always really wonderful. I've also met some great people at meetups in both Roanoke and Paris.


Music (listening and performing). Yoga. Dancing. Languages. Wine. Dinner parties with friends. Anything French. Jazz clubs. Singing. People.

Music, Movies, and Books

The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Beck, Dead Weather, Decemberists, Radiohead, Iron & Wine, Devendra Banhart

Charlie Parker, Bud Powell, Miles Davis, Ella Fitzgerald, Django Reinhardt, Nina Simone, Miles Davis

Beethoven, Debussy, Mendelssohn, Mahler, Erik Satie

Movies: Pulp Fiction, O Brother Where Art Thou, Amelie, Love Actually, Wizard People Dear Reader, I Heart Huckabees, The Princess Bride.

Books: Le Petit Prince, Lord of the Rings, On the Road, The Razor's Edge.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In May 2010 I went on a concert tour of Germany with my choir, and our last set of concerts was in the Thomaskierke in Germany (where J.S. Bach lived and worked for many years). Singing such powerful music in the exact spot where it had been composed centuries before was a truly incredible experience.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well I'm always trying to learn more about the world . . . I'm pretty good at teaching yoga if you want to learn that! I like teaching languages too - I can help you with English if it's not your first language, or French if you're a beginner. I can also teach you how to sing. I'd love to learn how to play the guitar better (I currently know how to play one song). I really want to learn how to speak French better, and I'm also anxious to learn more about the country and the culture here. I like cooking, although I don't know if I'm good at it, so maybe you can teach me your favorite recipe!

Countries I’ve Visited

Germany, Italy

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Joanna’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups