Addie Storvick

Burke, VA, USA

Accepting Guests

  • 69% response rate
  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Addie’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Teacher
  • Got it!
  • From Chula Vista, CA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Enrich my life by the addition of awesomeness. Please make sure to read my total profile if you are asking to surf with us.


I am always hungry for more adventure, travel, and naps.

I am easy going, adventurous, silly as shit and down to earth all at the same time. I care deeply about my friends and am passionate about life, love, and the pursuit of happiness. I am also kind of a goofy asshole, and have a swearing problem (but I filter it very well around children). I like meeting new people and finding strange adventures to get into. My kids are probably cooler than anyone I've ever met (myself included). I teach 3rd grade, have three cats and a dog, and keep myself busy juggling life. There is always room for new experience, no matter how busy or crazy we may be.


Life is a beautiful, wonderful, temporary experience that should be soaked up as much as humanly possible. Living to experience happiness and personal fulfillment. We don't have a lot. But we find adventures, we find a whole lot of free sunshine, and we find lots of love and laughter.

I'm not religious in any way shape or form. I think we should all be good to everyone because it is the right thing to do. I think we need to take care of each other and the earth, and that a sense of humor and an open mind can solve most of life's problems.

If you are going to send a couch request - I need you to state explicitly that you know there are animals and kids in the house. Also, because of the kids, please understand that I cannot host folks that have no references.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Host travelers who get stranded in the city without a place to sleep, or the rare individual who prefers to be in the suburbs (makes it easier if you get here by car, the city sucks for parking). Surfed for a week in South Korea, and surfed in Philly.


I've only surfed a little, but have hosted quite a bit.

My dad is a scientist at one of the Smithsonians, and growing up we were always hosting traveling scientists from all over the world. It gave me an appreciation for meeting new people from all over the world.


Music (specifically random punk rock bands from the late 90s on the west coast and ska). Tattoos. Running through mud and climbing walls. Hiking. Reading good stuff (Tom Robbins is a favorite). Watching burlesque shows. Teaching. Getting to know new people. Playing. Theatre. Meeting people and swapping stories over food/drink.

Music, Movies, and Books

I like movies in general. Good, bad, silly. Best in Show, Whip It, 500 Days of Summer, Up, Once, American Beauty, it goes on..

Music - eclectic at best. Bad Religion, Strung Out, Regina Spektor, Streetlight Manifesto, Mumford and Sons, Face to Face, Dismemberment Plan, Pietasters, Tsumnami Bomb, Florence & the Machine....etc

Books - I've read and loved everything Tom Robbins has ever written. Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, Long Way Gone, Post Secret Books, (okay, not a book, but I adore Dan Savage).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Finding out a photo of me was being used as the back cover art for an album put out by my favorite band. Big deal. Especially because it was the lead singer who told me, at a show.

Participating in five tough mudders and watching people be absolutely wonderful to each other and make sure everyone was taken care of and able to make it through.

Watching a momma jaguar and her cub (kitten?) drink from a river while sitting in a small boat in Costa Rica.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm pretty good at teaching kids to read, and third grade math. I make a mean lasagna sauce. I can guide you to running trails all over the DC area and perform a gait analysis to tell you what kind of shoes you should be wearing :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Anything you need from the DC area! Help feed your animals, cook a meal, and share stories with you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Costa Rica, France, Germany, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, South Korea, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Addie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups