Lena Balabushkina's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lena’s full profile.

Overview

  • 31 references 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning Spanish
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • self employed
  • MA degree in mechanical engineering
  • From Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Chilled, easy-going, laid-back, friendly.

10 years ago I met my husband Rupert through CS, and I think it's pretty awesome!
(https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/nomadicru)

If you want, have a look at my Instagram page, it's a very easy way to get to know me.
http://instagram.com/lena_balabushkina

I DON'T ACCEPT RANDOM FRIEND REQUESTS!

I use CS website for it's purposes only, please don't send me a message if you looking for a penpal friend or interested in random chatting, I'm really sorry but I don't have time for this.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love people in general. I like meeting new people, share stories and travel experience.
If I have opportunity to help somebody I will definitely use it. I like helping people and I'm not expecting anything in return.

My CS experience is very positive. A lot of people I met through this website are wonderful!

Interests

I love taking pictures (more than 10 years of my life I was in a commercial photography business) and I love travelling (surprise, surprise).

I have a real obsession with cats and dogs and all animals in general. By the way me and my husband don't eat any products of animal origin and vegan cooking is another big interest of mine. We have a small fluffy member of the family, a cockapoo dog called Soya.

I love to explore and walk. A lot. Long walks! Never met anybody who loves to walk and wander like I do. Everybody is just very lazy these days!

I love exercising and I'm a big fan of "smart" fitness, I think you can have great shape and healthy body without visiting gym and lifting heavy weights.

I also love english gardens and different plants (we have a huge garden and lots of indoor plants.)

Knitting and crocheting are in the list of my interests as well :-)

  • photography
  • wine
  • beer
  • traveling
  • languages
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Bossa nova, jazz, disco, funk, soul and classical music. Music is on in our house pretty much most of the time!

I love watching films, me and my husband are real "cinema junkies", we go very often especially during cold time of the year.

I love to read. Last days mostly I read autobiographies and psychology researches. My favourite writer is John Ronald Reuel Tolkien, I'm big fan of Jane Austin books. I do love John Keats poetry which is another sentimental thing about me. I've got several favourite Russian writers but probably you've never heard about them.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seeing Glacier Point Yosemite? Northern Lights in Finland? Grand Canyon in Arizona? Pink sand beach in Greece? Le Mont Saint Michele? Desert in Mexico? Caminito del Ray death path?.. - Can't decide which one is the most amazing!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help you with your camera (both digital/film, any format) or advise you what camera is right for you, explain how it works. Same with your phone camera, I can give a tutorial how to take great pictures and edit them in a nice way.
Or maybe you need a couple of portraits? I can help with that too.

Languages - Russian, English. Time to time I help students from University College of London where they learn Russian as a foreign language.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Walk, talk, beer, bottle of wine? Photo shoot?

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lebanon, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Seychelles, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, United Arab Emirates, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, England, Estonia, France, Russian Federation, Spain

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Lena’s full profile.