Logo orange

Adrian F A CHAN

Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Maybe Accepting Guests

92% response rate · Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Adrian's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 65 Positive References
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, Yue (Cantonese); learning Serbian, Serbian
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • National Hiccups Service
  • Brainwashed at some university for a...
  • From Hong Kong
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Fuck the Cola, Fuck the Pizza, all we need is Šlivovica!!

ABOUT ME

Various things I've been called: Friendly, active, outgoing, open-minded, constantly hungry, controversial, lazy, rude (?!), unpredictable, weird, odd, gypsy, monkey, spider, bla bla bla...

Living a parallel life with some sort of day job that requires vague responsibility, and trying to go mad soon as I step out of work. If I'm not working you'll most likely find me at the local climbing wall.

Interests: climbing, bouldering, scrambling, languages, local foods, cooking, any random gatherings, world music, playing music (unfortunately I play the piano which isn't very portable...), any random cool things (or not so cool). Obviously travelling, but I thought that would automatically fill itself in...

Moved to the UK from Hong Kong some nearly a decade ago and have lived here since, and slowly turning into a country bumpkin!

Mainly did my travelling in the Balkans, though adventuring into the Caucasus was another interesting experience.

Crap at talking about myself so I best shut up and let you find out. =D

PHILOSOPHY

It's the little things in life that makes it brilliant, and we're all searching for pieces of a puzzle to complete each others'.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'd like to host most of the time, but unfortunately I've always lived in the middle of nowhere or in shitholes where no one travels to!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Far too long a list to type, lots of surfing, plenty of random encounters, more and more hosting. Good times.

Interests

Rock climbing, bouldering, as well as hiking and mountaineering. Other than that any sports will serve me well =) Photography is a another hobby, especially when it comes to cultures and places, every place has it's own "taste" and it's a true memory wherever I go. I love to cook, all sorts of things so as long as the ingredients are there, I'll be able to make something out of it! Of course, your traditional recipe would be much appreciated if I could learn it, and I've always got plenty to give back. Most important afterall is probably learning about you, you and more you!!

Music, Movies & Books

Books: Anything worth reading, as long as it's not commercial fiction, best if there's a bit of reality/history to it! If not linguistics and psychology shall suffice.

Don't have a massive preference for music, though I'd try and stay away from house/RnB, would choose country, folk, blues, soft rock over that, basically music with some real music and heart, not about someone getting shot in a back-alley. Having been influenced by the Balkans, you'll also find me listening to a lot of trumpety stuff, Goran Bregovic, Balkan beat box, so on and so on.

Movies: recommend me a film, I'd watch anything!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Waking up in the Sahara at 4.00AM seeing a whole skyfull of stars, once in a lifetime!! Summiting Cairngorm in Scotland after an exhilarating climb in deep winter, January 2010, seeing the rolling hills for miles is just breathtaking. Hiking alone above the snowline in the Rugova valley in Kosovo and getting lost, having to downclimb a good 400m to find the right path. Hitch-hiking with 2 NATO officers in Kosovo, now that's a result! :D Bouldering in the freezing cold at Stanage plantations, when one is so in the moment that the cold doesn't feel cold, and all is focused on that one move to get keep one hanging on a piece of rock! Guca festival, Serbia - changed my perception of what's fun. Hitch-hiked around Armenia over the course of 2 weeks, not really knowing any Armenian/Russian and not speaking any English..

Teach, Learn, Share

As much as I like to learn about other cultures I'd also like to return the favour by letting others know about mine! If you'd like to I could try and get you into climbing/bouldering?! Also just started slack lining!! Feed me languages...

Countries I've Visited

Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Denmark, France, Greece, Japan, Korea, Republic of, Kosovo, Malaysia, Montenegro, Morocco, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Sweden, Thailand, United States

Countries I've Lived In

China, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Adrian's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile