Logo orange

Joe 789

Perth, WA

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joe's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 7 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Student - studying my second degree ...
  • Perth School 2 years. Saudi Arabia 2...
  • From Perth, Western Australia, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

As the saying goes in Zambia - to "sort my life out".

ABOUT ME

I love to trek outdoors and be adventurous. I wanted to experience adventure and life I believe should be the biggest adventure out there.

I'm independent, open minded, friendly and a Australian. I love a laugh and enjoy people's company by sharing travel stories and experiences.

I love hearing about a person's background and life story - everyone has a unique story to tell and I believe we can all learn from each other especially travel stories.

I try to make the most out of each day.

I had a stable job working in a hospital lab that I had between 2008 - 210, but sensing the need to travel I packed it up and began traveling in July 2010. I finished that after 18 months abroad and now I'm studying again - this time in Philosophy.

History was my favourite subject in school and the chance to travel now is wetting my apetite. Travelling in Europe especially is amazing because theres so much history here and you can practically throw a stone and it'll hit something historical.

Im an active 28 year old who like to go out, keep fit and enjoy new company. I also like to chill out with a good book and a bottle of red wine. Im now thoroughly addicted to chocolate.

My hope next year is to run the 22km half marathon.

I have 4 brothers and 2 sisters. Im the oldest in the family which I believe has impregnated me with a sense of responsibility to my younger siblings (24, 21, 20, 12, 10 and 9 years old).

PHILOSOPHY

My philosophy in life is treating people the way you'd like to be treated.
I believe that if you receive good then you should also pass it onto someone else.
History and politics are 2 taboo subjects in society today but I feel the world needs to communicate these more efficiently to improve the world but not repeating the trageties of history.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Every couch surfing experience is a blast. Its great to meet people on a personal level and not in some quazi hostel thats full of people with different interests.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I heard about it from a friend and it sounded like a great idea.

Id love to hear your version of CS and why you opened up your house...

Interests

Beach, swimming, mountain hiking, running

Ceroc (jive) dancing, squash, running.

Playing the piano

Part of a Public speaking club called Toastmasters (really good fun!)

I listen to a broad spectrum of music including Pipe organ music, classical, gegorian, dance-techno, rock, alternative eg Muse.

Love watching intriging movies that swist your mind and make you think about the plot ie A few good men.

Music, Movies & Books

All types of music

Classical books ie Count of Monte Cristo, Tolkein, Law, History and mystery books.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Seen herds of wilderbeest crossing the Rift Valley in Tanzania.
White water rafting the Zambezi River.
Bungi, gorge swinged and used a flying fox over a canyon in one day.
Climbed the world's highest dune in Sossulslei, Namibia.
Explored the spiritually saturated and amazing city of Jerusalem.

Hitchhiking through Jordan - easiest thing in the world if you want to go there do it. I never had to wait for than 5 minutes for a lift - the people are so friendly too!

Exploring the underground catacombs of Sicily where there are 8,000 dead people stored on the walls and the amazing thing is the're still dressed in clothes.

Trekked the amazing Cinque Terre trail from Riomaggiore to Monterosso.

Saw Paris in a day (19 hours).

Drove across USA in a Honda and camped out every night for 8 weeks.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Malawi, Malaysia, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Palestine, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Zambia

Countries I've Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Joe's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile