Logo orange

Alexia Elliott

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Maybe Accepting Guests

0% response rate · Last login about 14 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 8 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • writer, media assistant, admin assis...
  • High School
  • From Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

"Struggle to sketch the flow that already exists intact in mind" (J. Kerouac)

ABOUT ME

Me: a 36 year-old female from Canada who now lives in Berlin. Before that I was an honorary Londoner (;-P) after 13 years residence.

Travels: I've explored England, Scotland, Spain, Germany, France, Mexico, Guatemala, America and a few bits of Canada.

Beliefs: Definitely not a nationalist! I am a feminist who believe in equality for everyone and has often done charity or community work in the past. So sexists, racists, homophobes, ablists, classists etc need apply!

Having always worked in media jobs where I was surrounded by fresh faces, I love meeting new people and exploring new ideas.

What I like in a person/guest: Sincerity, empathy, creativity, self-reflection and a sense of humour about life. Although not necessarily all at the same time or in that order! Lol.

When I'm not traveling or writing I post occasional Berlin tips and reflections in these blogs: http://fleetingreams.blogspot.com/ (a personal blog) and http://unsceneberlin.blogspot.com, a nightlife blog.

If you are not a guest and you want to check out Berlin together I'm usually up for it, so please get in touch! I can also do nightlife tours in English or French for a small fee. Just ask!

PHILOSOPHY

"Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason." (Novalis)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

READ THIS IF YOU WANT ME TO HOST YOU

Your reply must show that:

1) You have read this profile. What do we have in common?

2) You will only stay 2 nights max because my couch is in my bedroom. Unfortunately!

3) you are willing to set aside a few hours one evening to check out some of the city's sights.

Please write to me in English or French ONLY. German/Spanish are NOT my main languages and I am unable to reply to messages in those languages.

If you just want someone to show you around, note that non-guests can contact me for Berlin tips and advice via my blogs or book a nightlife/street life tour at http://unscene-berlin.blogspot.com/

**************************************************

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

It's an alternative education.

Interests

clubs, parties, open-airs, reading, wandering, bicycles, creative experiments, chatter and humour. Unintentional puns are a specialty of mine, be warned heheheh

Music, Movies & Books

Music: ska, hardcore punk, experimental from the 70s and early 80s, ebm, every every ever kind of techno and electronic music, new wave, acid house, Detroit house, bluegrass, baroque, classical, my mates' bands.

Books:
Woman on the Edge of Time, 1984, Fight Club, The Corrections, The Blind Assassin, Pale Fire, Hangover Square. And many more...

Films: I've watched too many films to even begin deciding which are my favourites, but some of the ones I really like are:

mulholland drive
the company of wolves
brick
lost in translation
it's all gone pete tong
fight club
das leben der anderen
amores perros
fear and loathing in las vegas
trainspotting
the princess bride
heathers
brazil
the shining
jacob's ladder
apocalypse now
Die fetten jahren sind forbei
lolita
memento
apocalypse now

TV: don't watch it alot but I love stuff like six feet under, House MD, 30 Rock - basically stuff that's good enough to make a film out of.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Every day has its amazing moments but these are the ones which usually come to mind when I'm asked this question:

1) I helped save some dude's life at a party once. It's quite the story - gory, too, so don't ask unless you want to know!
2) Watched the full moon rise over the ruins of Tikhal
3) Reclaimed the Streets in London, 1999
4) Contributor on London's biggest underground zine for 6 years

An honorary mention is 'moved to another country in my 30s without regretting it'. It's not spectacular on paper but in practice, it's probably the most amazing challenge I've faced in life.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, France, Germany, Guatemala, Mexico, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Germany, Mexico, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile