Andrea Buchwald's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 28% response rate
  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrea’s full profile.

Overview

  • 39 references 30 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian, Russian, Spanish
  • 35, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • Research
  • the math without the numbers
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Survival

ABOUT ME

I love meeting new people, going new places, trying new things...I figure I'll do almost anything once.

I'm a book nerd, scientist, cyclist, play dress-up like I'm 8 years old, study epidemiology, cut my own hair, run frequently, enjoy yoga, make jewelry, experiment with cooking, read too much...

I'm new to Denver and would love to explore the city with you! If I can't host you, I'm still up for exploring restaurants or parks or museums or whatever. I'm always up for talking, drinking wine, and making dinner

PHILOSOPHY

drive slowly, look out for wildlife and eat lots of good food

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

couchsurfed in Alaska, met up with a couple couchsurfers while living in Santa Fe, couchsurfed all over eastern Africa, Asia, Europe...

Hosted here or there. Hosting now mostly

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

The first time I couchsurfed I stayed in a mobile home on a glacier in Alaska. It was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. Since then I've been fortunate to stay with young people and old people in beautiful mansions, beat-up group homes, soviet dorms, and mud huts. I feel so lucky to have had such incredible experiences with kind and hospitable strangers all over the world and can only hope to offer the same in return.

I sincerely love the couchsurfing project. It is so dear to me, I instantly assume anyone involved is a friend. So far, that assumption has worked out quite well for me.

Interests

Books, climbing, reading, writing, crafting, jogging, biking, yoga, pastels, public health, animals, math, claymation

  • animals
  • wildlife
  • writing
  • books
  • literature
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • yoga
  • running
  • drinking
  • boating
  • reading
  • survival
  • cycling
  • mathematics
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

I will read anything and everything given the time...
Recently Read: The Tin Drum, Ringworld, a random Armistead Maupin novel I found in a hostel, The Sandman

To read list: roughly 50 books on my bookshelves that I haven't got to yet, oops.

I have just dug out my old record player and a treasure trove of 60s and 70s records...I'm having fun exploring my collection...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was once on a boat that was hit by a whale.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love it if some one could teach me to play the accordian. I'm getting into jewelry making so would love to trade techniques and ideas...I will teach you everything you never wanted to (and probably shouldn't) know about evasive bicycling and Russian literature.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Burundi, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Ecuador, England, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Portugal, Rwanda, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda

Countries I’ve Lived In

Malawi, United States, Zambia

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrea’s full profile.

My Groups