Alex Hallbom's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Administration
  • Undergraduate
  • From Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Currently living and working in Dawson City, Yukon Territory, Canada. I am a part of the vibrant musical community here, and I am happy to introduce visitors to the things I love about Dawson.

I am interested in sustainable living and progressive policy. I am loosely involved in local and regional politics. You will find that Dawson is full of all kinds of ideologies, but that people are very willing to retreat from the political realities of the world. Such is life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am finally in a house that can accommodate guests.

When I travelled through Europe a few years ago I leaned very heavily on couchsurfing, and I would like to repay the favour.

I believe that cultivating communities of mutual aid and radical reciprocity offers a valid alternative to capitalism, and that Couchsurfing supports that goal (AirBnB and Uber should be described as a "sharing economy' - it is an insult to socialist politics).

Interests

Music, Cycling, Hiking, Cooking, Brewing, Fermenting

  • concerts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • politics
  • music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing

Music, Movies, and Books

I play quite a lot of music; mostly flatpicking guitar (old-time, bluegrass, celtic, country) and vocals. I volunteer in the local square dance string band.

Not a big movie fan, but I enjoy documentaries and science fiction.

Most of the reading I have been doing recently has been academic (in preparation for beginning graduate studies). Outside of that, I enjoy Phillip K Dick, Kurt Vonnegut, Hemingway, Terry Pratchet.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can give people guitar or vocal coaching.

I have also in the past ran workshops on home fermenting (cider, mead, sauerkraut, kombucha, kefir, yogurt).

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, India, Italy, Jamaica, Portugal, Sweden, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups