Logo orange

Alexandra White

Newtown, Connecticut, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexandra's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 3 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Unemployed
  • No education listed
  • From Newtown, CT
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To figure out where to turn next.

ABOUT ME

I'm a 24 year old woman who just graduated college. I'm trying to figure out what's next for me in this huge world and exploring is definitely an option that I'm hoping can guide my instincts. I love to travel but I need to travel on a low-budget.

As a guest, I am very respectful. I am clean, I will do dishes and cook delicious foods for you. I can be a little shy at first, but I open up quickly. I also love sharing (telling and hearing) stories.

Interests

Some interests: social justice work, learning about my ancestry, writing writing writing all the time, meeting new people, baking, learning languages, punk music/lifestyle, queer communities, diy ethics, harm reduction, addiction studies, race politics, gender politics, etc.

I've been spending my time mostly writing papers, most recently about immigration politics in the US. I also cook free food for anyone who is hungry once a week. I LOVE TO DANCE!

Music, Movies & Books

I LOVE MOVIES! Anything visually striking, I also love historical fictions, and movies about resistance and resilience, inspiration mindfood.

Music: Although the punk scene kinda bothers me, I'll always have a tender place in my heart for punk rock. I also like political music, folk punk, crust, blue grass, i don't know I'm not sure about genres but I'm pretty flexible with music.

Books: ZAMI: A New Spelling of My Name, The Guardians, Skinny Legs & All, and cookbooks of course!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Last summer, my car broke down in the Mohave Desert (on the border of Arizona and California). Our phones were dead, AAA took forever to come and eventually towed us back to AZ to an Autozone parking lot late in the night. We were trying to figure out what was wrong with our car, and eventually realized that the grease system (our car ran on used veg oil) was broken and that we had to reconfigure the car to not run on grease anymore, but we didn't have the tools. We also didn't have any money and it was starting to look like we were going to have to sleep in an abandoned lot. We were very discouraged. All of a sudden, a drunk man walked out of the shadows with blood all over his knees and hands (I didn't trust him) and he listened to our story and then called some fancy casino hotel and got us a free room and a free breakfast. He was an IT exec apparently. Never saw him again, but man, walking into the casino was pretty awestriking, as we were covered in dust and all sleep-deprived and seeing tons of flashing lights and bleeping noises and people chain smoking cigarettes and staring blankly at slot machines.

I also volunteered on the AZ-Mexico border putting out water for people who were crossing the desert. Too much to say, but experiencing border politics was one of the craziest situations I'e ever witnessed.

Teach, Learn, Share

Skills I got? First aid/CPR/EMT skills, baking delicious foods, knitting, Spanish

I want to learn how to can foods, how to skateboard, how to do circus tricks, how to be a wilderness first responder, how to talk about consent, how to support survivors of violence, how to be an ally ummmm how to whistle!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Guatemala, Ireland, Mexico, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexandra's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile