Andrew Melling's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 14% response rate
  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile.


  • 18 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Thai
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Teacher
  • Degree in Psychology
  • From Poynton, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Been living in Thailand for 14 years now (which is a scary amount of time). First came over to work in Ayutthaya after reading on a website about the prospect of taking an elephant taxi to school. Although this wasn't quite the case in reality, still found Ayutthaya to be a very cool place where you could waste your afternoons by the river drinking away Thai whisky with good friends and a backdrop of various Buddhist temples.

Now living in Bangkok, possibly the complete opposite of Ayutthaya. For the past 11 years I've been working at an international school teaching history and geography to kids way smarter than I myself (as they all speak at least 4 different languages).

As well as working, I am also over here doing a PGCE course. Although both my work and studies take up a lot of my time, this doesn't bother me so much, as I truly enjoy doing both of them. Though I will try and make as much time as I can for anyone wanting to come visit.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My organisation is terrible, so don't expect me to know what I'm doing in more than a week's time. I prefer couch surfers that show up last minute. At least then I know for sure if I'm available to host or not.


General adventures, playing and watching football, cycling, swimming,, and drinking :)

  • drinking
  • movies
  • reading
  • soccer
  • geography
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Love movies (hate art-house movies, love explosions), listen to music everyday (although my i-tunes library needs updating), use to really like reading though haven't had time for it recently.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Currently a Level 37 Pokemon Master.

Teach, Learn, Share

ok, I'll try

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, China, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Japan, Laos, Myanmar, Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Spain, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile.