Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Adam’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 27 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • physics, data mining
  • phd, physics
  • From Charleston, SC, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meet cool people from all over the world!

ABOUT ME

I liked showing people around my hometown when I worked at a hostel downtown. CS was a natural step from there. Some friends introduced me to it, and I was hooked.

I like outdoor and endurance sports: biking, swimming, hiking, climbing, running.

PHILOSOPHY

http://xkcd.com/137/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I went a lot of meetups in NC, and haven't been too active since moving to NY for work. Thinking of getting back into it!

I surf when traveling, and host people passing through town when I can.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted some folks; I surfed around england for a bit when I lived there before I found a place; I go to local CS group meetups for potlucks, drinks, or whatever is planned.

Interests

outdoorsy stuff, math & science, cooking, traditional music, gardening, infrastructure, cooperatives, blogs, data mining

  • cooking
  • recipes
  • running
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • economics
  • history
  • mathematics
  • physics
  • psychology
  • science
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite movies are Network (1976), the LOTR trilogy, Pan's Labyrinth, The Magnificent Seven, 13 Days, and anything James Bond.

For Music, folky stuff like Damien Rice, Ray Lamontagne; 90s rock stuff; Feist, Adele, Fiona Apple

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I'll have to say bioluminescent algae/plankton at the beach. At night, the water shimmers.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Math and physics; data mining. My specialty is cosmology; Ugly C progamming; I worked as a cook for a while, and can teach some basic kitchen skills.

Learn: economics, history, psychology, any good recipes you might have, science, math, math methods, linguistics

Share: stories, perspectives. and my couch!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Italy

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    10 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Adam’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups