Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 38% response rate
  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anders’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 27 References 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Veterinarian
  • BS from Texas Christian University, DVM (veterinary) from...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

READ BEFORE SENDING REQUEST:

*SUNDAYS from 2am to 8pm the place is not available. You can have you stuff here but don't plan on hanging around the apartment (girlfriend's only day off). Plan accordingly (i.e. stay out all night/day or get a hostel for Sat night)

1) No single females; guys or couples only (have girlfriend)
2) 1 person is easy, 2 people is crowded but can work
3) Max stay 5-7 days, 3-4 days is ideal
4) Quiet hours 3am to 10am. If you want to wake up before 10am, you have to plan ahead so you can quietly sneak out without waking me up...meaning no shower, no cooking, etc. early in the morning. (I work late)
5) I require a copy of passport (can email to me) for security/safety
6) Alcohol, cigarettes, 420 are OK. Noise isn't (HK neighbors are the worst)

Otherwise I'm pretty laid back. If you leave in the morning and go to bed before 1am, we probably won't even see each other. I'm a night owl so if you like to stay up late then this place if perfect for you.

CURRENT MISSION

I'm working in HK for a couple of years so I can travel this part of the world on my time off.

ABOUT ME

Work hard, travel hard....that about sums it up. When I'm not working I'm off on my next adventure. When I run out of money I go home and work 2 jobs so I can be off again as soon as possible.....

Laid back, open minded.

I don't smoke, do drink socially, 420 friendly

PHILOSOPHY

Carpe Noctem

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I can host when I'm in town.
Otherwise I get involved locally when I get a chance.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

2 years traveling around the world, hosted a number of times back home. Use it more as a social network than a place to stay....CS still hasn't figured out a very efficient system that is compatible with modern day travelers in my opinion.

Interests

Outdoors (swimming holes, lakes, boats, camping, hiking, etc)
Bars/partying, but have toned that down some as I've gotten older. Still up for a good night out if I don't have work commitments.
Animals (down to 1 cat)
Concerts (see below)
Movies
Contemporary Art

I play tennis, raquet ball, ping pong, darts. None competatively but can hang at least. I suck at most sports but found with team sports sucking makes other people pissed off at you. With individual sports you don't really let anyone else down!

  • animals
  • pets
  • cats
  • dogs
  • arts
  • contemporary art
  • concerts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • running
  • partying
  • drinking
  • movies
  • team sports
  • traveling
  • darts
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • sports
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • table tennis
  • communications
  • lakes

Music, Movies, and Books

Radiohead, Streets, Avalanches, Postal Service, Death Cab, Beck, Coldplay, 90's alternative, Flaming lips, Phoenix, White Stripes, some electronic (Tiesto, Deadmau5, etc) but not a daily listen for me...more for the show experience.

Go to SXSW in Austin almost every year. Austin City Limits every other year.

I have been to a variety of shows including raves, country bars (unfortunately), front row at the likes of radiohead, pearl jam, flaming lips, STP, alice in chains, and several larger festivals.

Haven't read many books because the TV demons took over my life a few years back, but tend to like biographies for both reading and movies.

Movies:
Pulp Fictions, anything by Wes Anderson, A Perfect World, Cohen brothers, Blow, Man on the Moon, Walk the Line (see, I like biographies), Eternal Sunshine, Happy Gilmore, Jerk, Cadyshack,

TV:
Breaking Bad is the best show on television and better than most movies I have watched.
Always Sunny in Philadelphia best comedy on TV
Law and Order addiction that I am now trying to rid myself of. Otherwise the usual Simpsons, Family guy, Seinfeld.
Sports: watch football on Sundays when I can. Watch playoffs in the other sports. Watch soccer when its on.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I managed to save a dog's life on a hill top on an island in Greece. The owner had fed him some bones the week before and he was constipated to the point of vomiting and not being able to eat. Using headlights from a truck as the light source, a yogurt spoon as my tool, and a lot of soap I was able to remove the brick of feces that had formed after about an hour or two of digging. Oh, I also had the flu. I got a glass of wine and free wifi for my troubles.

Teach, Learn, Share

I don't play a musical instrument but have always regretted not learing.

I don't speak another language well but have always regretted not learning (i.e. would love to pick up some as I go).

I don't cook much but the times I have learned to cook I was much happier but tend to get busy and fall into the frozen food trap.

I did play varsity tennis in high school so am always up to go hit but am not dominant by any means.

I enjoy art, especially modern/contemporary and have lot of ideas...may pursue this as a second career or hobby one day.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Happy to share all of the digital media I have acquired, and offer any advice on pets.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Hong Kong, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Anders’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups