Alicja Michalak

Bratislava, Slovakia

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alicja’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Polish, Turkish; learning French, Kazakh
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • No occupation listed
  • BA in Turkic Studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


getting to know Bratislava :)


I'm a recent graduate of Turkology in Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan, where I lived until now with my family. I like meeting new people and foreign cultures. I'm optimistic and a little crazy;) When I tried hitchhiking for a first time I loved it. It's my way way of traveling now. One day I'll hitchhike through Middle Asia. I don't drink alcohol nor smoke cigarettes.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Not much... YET


I like being in move, I do sports like sailing, swimming, skiing, cycling, but mostly I'm not really good at them ;) I love traveling, climbing the mountains, hitch-hiking, learning languages and discovering foreign cultures.

Music, Movies, and Books

I like reading, but I find it really hard to list my favorite books. My childhood number one is for sure "Winnetou" by Karl May.
Some books are important for me not only because of its contents, but also the circumstances that accompanied them in my life. Recently I'm under great impression of two books, which found me (yeah, I really don't feel like I was the "founder" then) in Canada: "Wild: from lost to found on a Pacific Crest Trail" by Cheryl Strayed and "Three Cups of Tea" by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin.

Music - not much. I don't really know too much about music. Sometimes I like something but I dont even know the name. If I should list some names: Edith Piaf, Jacek Kaczmarski, Eddie Vedder. And campfire songs :)

Movies - depends on my mood. But there are some I feel some kind of connection to:
"Before sunrise", "Le fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain"...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Some of the stories seem like dream after some time of living "normal life". They seem unbelivable even for me, who lived them ;) But to keep it short, here is one thing:

Climbing a roof of a really high building under construction in a suburbs of Rome and watching sunset from there.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a ski instructor. So if there will be a possibility I'd be happy to teach you skiing :) I can show You Poznań and tell sth about Poland or teach a little of Polish (when I'll start to be boring, stop me!). If you are from any Turkic nation I'll be over the moon if you will tell me something about your language and culture. I also love learning new languages (right now I'm learning French, Turkish, Kazakh and Arabic) I believe that we are learning all life long so I'm open to new ideas.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Tunisia, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Poland, Slovakia, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Alicja’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups