Alan Izar's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, German
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Graduate Student / Blogger / Kitchen survivalist
  • Chemical Engineer
  • From Durango, Mexico
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Trying to graduate from my PhD program while living fully. And to cook Paleo/Primal.

ABOUT ME

I am a Chemical Engineer currently working towards my PhD. I'm from Mexico so I can speak spanish as well as english. My other passions besides figuring out what makes the world tick are reading, writing, and cooking (Paleo). My life goal is to be able to do a backflip. And to publish several novels I'm working on.

PHILOSOPHY

I will do what I have to do, and sometimes more. But if I find something that I'd like to do, I'll stop what I'm doing in order to do it.

My best friend says that in one word he can describe me as Passionate.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

At the moment I can't host (since I changed roommates and they are not comfortable with the idea), but I am open to meeting people in Boulder, hiking and all around being a good sport!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosting people, mostly invited by my awesome roommate Nick, but hoping to step out of the comfort zone and invite people!

Interests

Cooking (paleo, primal, gluten free)
Reading
Writing
Mathematical modelling
Mexican politics
Languages (currently speak three, read five, goal to speak six before thirty)

  • writing
  • cooking
  • politics
  • reading
  • socializing
  • bouldering
  • hiking
  • sports
  • engineering
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Harry Potter
Milan Kundera
Alexandre Dumas
Plato (so heavy, but so worth it)
Buffy
Doctor Who
BSG
Charmed (yes, it was bad, but I liked it)
I love almost every Urban Fantasy and I know quite a bit about movies
Carlos Fuentes
Vargas Llosa
Garcia Marquez

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A young man taking his little boy to a park, and teaching him how to do pull ups

Teach, Learn, Share

I can speak three languages, know how to cook liver (not a lot of people do) and am learning to do a handstand. I can also read the tarot.

Join Couchsurfing to see Alan’s full profile. It’s free!