Alana Deluty's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 28 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alana’s full profile.

Overview

  • 79 references 58 Confirmed & Positive
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English; learning Hebrew (modern), Malay, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Clinical Research
  • BA
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

**NOT HOSTING UNVACCINATED SURFERS**

**I have been getting an unbelievable amount of requests lately so I am being a little fussy right now about who I am willing to host, just because while I enjoy hosting, I don't want to be hosting nonstop. feel free to send requests for an advance, but I will rarely confirm prior to a week before.**

Https://blog.couchsurfing.com/the-7-deadly-sins-of-couchsurfing/

Hello all! I am a native Rhode Islander, but I've also lived in Ohio, NYC, India, Malaysia, and Israel. Here in Rhode Island, I am active both with the couchsurfing community and with the Fulbright community in my home state. I love to learn about foreign cultures and spend a lot of my free time planning events for both CS and Fulbright :) I enjoy hosting couchsurfers, introducing them to my community and family, and sharing the joy of cultural exchange with new people. In my free time, I love bike rides, dancing, and throwing parties. There's a high likelihood of being invited to join me for those activities :) I quite enjoy hosting and have a lot to share with my surfers. I have extra bicycles, a kayak, sporting equipment, all of which I love to share, and also tend to invite surfers to join me for dancing on Wednesdays.

Right now, I am particularly interested in hosting native Spanish speakers who are willing to help me practice!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

While an undergrad, I studied in Pune, India, and went back to do a research project on the state of surrogacy in Gujarat. On that trip, I couchsurfed my way across India, Malaysia, Singapore, and Thailand. From then on, I was hooked! I couchsurfed with 20ish hosts across 15ish countries, met other travelers, and had incredible adventures. I found CSers even when I wasn't looking, and since then, I have loved being part of this community. When I lived in Malaysia in 2016, I used CS to stay with hosts all over southeast asia, and in 2021, traveled all over Palestine and Turkey, and made wonderful friends along the way.

Interests

I spend most of my free time swing dancing, hanging around outdoors, hiking, bicycling, and planning events for Fulbright :)

  • arts
  • books
  • beauty
  • dancing
  • swing dancing
  • traveling
  • blues
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • lindy hop

Music, Movies, and Books

Anything swing-dance able- Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday, Louis Armstrong, but also lots of modern indie and pop music too.

I'm a book lover and read all sorts of things, especially nonfiction. I love anything by Jhumpa Lahiri or Malcolm Gladwell.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Just...one?

Trekking in the Himalayas (2013)
Hitchhiked from Lithuania to Finland (2017)
Hitchhiked across the West Bank (2019 and again in 2021)
Butchered a sheep for Eid in Turkey (2021)

Teach, Learn, Share

cooking, dancing, kayaking!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cambodia, Canada, Cuba, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, Macao, Malaysia, Myanmar, Netherlands, Palestine, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, Israel, Malaysia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alana’s full profile.

My Groups