Leigh Williams's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Leigh’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 16 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Georgian, German
  • 74, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Software UI designer, retired.
  • Over-educated: Degrees in psychology, art, computer science.
  • From Milwaukee, WI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Returned Peace Corps English Education volunteer from the Republic of Georgia, where I tried to have fun and inspire kids to like learning English.


Historically, I have not gotten to a location by a straight route, or by single-minded persistence. I've traveled extensively in the US and Europe, lived in Greece and Am. Samoa, and am determined to improve my French so that I can speak, and write, (almost) like a native. This is definitely not an easy task, although I am progressing. I specialize in inventing words and making new and different grammatical errors.


Live life with no regrets. Don't put off forever something you'd really like to do, hurt people, burn bridges, or forget to tell people you care about them.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I hosted people coming through the Tri-Cities, and participated on forums now and then. I surf sometimes when I'm traveling. Since I now live in a village in Georgia, the opportunities to couchsurf are fewer, and my obligations are more numerous.


All of my contacts with people from CS have been really positive.


Foreign & independent films, languages, software design, hiking in the mountains, puzzles, code, art/sculpture especially clay, fiber arts (knitting, spinning, weaving, dyeing). I've recently been recycling the wool from sweaters, which I sometimes dye before knitting it up again. I love spinning and have knit some hats from llama wool that I have spun.

  • arts
  • design
  • festivals
  • movies
  • traveling
  • puzzles
  • knitting
  • coding
  • hiking
  • software
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite film of the moment used to be "Quartet," Dustin Hoffman's first directorial effort, which I think was pretty near perfect. I have also liked "Memento" and many, many others.

I've been borrowing books from the library to read on my Kindle. I just finished "Those Angry Years", about the run-up to America's entry into WWII, but probably didn't read it fast enough. Everyone was angry for a very long time. Weeks. It felt like the present day. I then set out to re-read "Lawrence In Arabia" about T. E. Lawrence and how the Middle East got parceled up the way it did, but got side-tracked by "Sans un Adieu", a murder mystery by Harlan Coban translated to French. All the characteristics of his writing that I have little patience with in English serve me well in French: Mostly action, little description, short sentences. I am enjoying the book because it's easy to understand, I guess.

I also study Georgian, and when I was in Georgia, tried to do a good job teaching English, and not mess up too bad culturally.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I dove in Palau and saw a forest of 6 ft. tall orange sea fans all oriented in the same direction. I walked to the edge of a reef and snorkled along Ngmelis Wall. The small bright-colored reef fish, groupers, sharks, sea turtles, were all arrayed below me along the wall, which dropped off precipitously to a deep, deep blue. The wall itself was covered with tiny creatures, fish and corals. It was magic, on both micro and macro scales.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know a lot about film, was president of the local film club, and went to the Seattle International Film Festival for many years. For 10 years I was a member of a software development group, doing user interface design and usability, retiring in 2010.

If you want to learn with me about spinning, dyeing with natural dyes, or knitting, I know something about them. I am a member of Desert Fiber Arts Guild in the Tri-Cities and could introduce you to some wonderful, knowledgeable, generous people, should you encounter me there.

I've traveled alone by motorcycle through Europe, gone overland by bus from Turkey to Nepal and lived abroad for extended periods of time. In 2010, I walked some 400 km or so (mostly up or down, rarely on the flat) through the French Alps. For 2.5 weeks in 2011, I worked on a French archaeology project studying petroglyphs in the French Alps, and an archaeology survey project in Mongolia in May 2015.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Travel stories; what it's like for a single woman to travel alone for extended periods. I'll probably have a knitting project with me.

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, American Samoa, Belgium, Canada, Cook Islands, Denmark, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guam, India, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, Palau, Samoa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

American Samoa, England, Georgia, Greece, Micronesia, Federated States of, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Leigh’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups