Logo orange

Justin Sharps

Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 10 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Japanese, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Programmer making mobile apps and games
  • B.S. in Chemical Biological Engineer...
  • From Laguna Niguel, CA, USA
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Time off before work begins and want to see as much of England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland as I can. More interested in absorbing the pace of life, and learning local (and historic) languages, and customs, than in seeing big-name attractions.

ABOUT ME

mhhmm... I guess I would say I'm a little shy and reserved at first but open up pretty fast. I believe nearly anything can be achieved through study and practice (and confidence + good attitude). Alas that the practicalities of life oft intervene with such endeavors - but, getting better at dealing with that too. I can be particular but place a high value on being polite and considerate and hope others would describe me as such.

I'm very curious (perhaps too much) and spend alot of time asking questions and wondering about things. The next step, of course, is to test yourself and your predictions. This step is somewhat harder...

I love to laugh. I like dancing, but not in any particular style - mostly throw me in with some good electronica and I do what I call "real-time emotive actualization"

Also, on a mission to meet many new people from all over, despite being reserved. Not on the 'current mission' cause it's not a 'current' mission. Plus, I used up the character limit.

PHILOSOPHY

I don't know if complicated is the right word, but I'm always refining it to better increase external/internal consistency with what I observe/experience. Don't much feel like explainin' in type, but if you wanna know, we can talk I 'spose.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

just surfing for now, moving house in a bit and will re-evaluate hosting ability then...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've only hosted one couchsurfer who I met through a different group - and given that we shared such similar interests it was a great experience. Heard great things about CS and want to try it out and learn more. Been surfing for a couple weeks and have enjoyed meeting a wide variety of people.

Interests

academic interests: physics, biology, chemistry, math, computer science, linguistics and foreign languages, teaching methodologies, learning methodologies, discipline specific pedagogies (which means to say, "how specific subjects are taught," I think), history

hobbies: running, tennis, learning, mixing fun into everything, wine + cold beer, lexicogeneration, programming (don't get to this enough), travel, music, electronic music

Music, Movies & Books

music: Under0ath, Mark Knight, Ferry Corsten, Goldfrapp, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin

Books: Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, His Dark Materials, "Gödel, Escher, Bach", most (but not all) of Shakespeare, Magician (Raymond Feist), Good Omens

Movies: Avatar, Babel, Star Wars, Shrek (original only), Fight Club

There are more of these things.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Taught computer science in jerusalem to a class of Palestinian and Israeli students
the sunrise in osaka on my 21st birthday
the view of tokyo from the rainbow bridge
bike riding from the top of haleakala to the beach and through the cloud layer

Teach, Learn, Share

Learn: any language not on the list of foreign languages I know, plus more details about ones I do
If you're good at math/number theory, could use some pointers. Sailing. how to hike/camp/survive in wilderness

Teach: programming, chemistry, biology, electrical engineering, chem eng but that's more case-by-case

I'm just highlighting disciplines, not specific things. If you think the specific thing you're interested is related to the above, ask and we'll see

Not really an expert cook, but perhaps a fearless one (that is I like to experiment). Interested in learning/sharing/twisting recipes - or perhaps just being an extra hand round the kitchen...

Countries I've Visited

Costa Rica, Greece, Nicaragua, Spain, Turkey

Countries I've Lived In

Italy, Japan, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile