Alberto Velasco's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 94% response rate
  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alberto’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 16 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Swedish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Visual Artist
  • Masters in Visual Arts
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a visual artist, I studied at La Esmeralda National School for Painting, Sculpture and Engraving in Mexico City, where I was born.
I did my professional thesis in Toronto, Canada, where I lived for 3 years.
Came back to Mexico for a while and then lived in the Netherlands and work for a series of sculptures about a great dancer of the National Ballet of Amsterdam.
I decidedly wanted to be in the state of Oaxaca after coming back to Mexico.
I lived in Oaxaca City and enjoyed it, showing my art work at its main galleries and teaching in one of its most renowned art schools.
I moved to Puerto Escondido five years ago. I've been enjoying living by the sea and the way this has brought a lot of inspiration to my life and to my art work.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

As a result of travelling and living abroad, and as result of meeting a lot of very interesting people, the idea of hosting through Couchsurfing has been appealing to me.
Sharing with travellers the joy I'm having by living in Puerto Escondido and sharing its beautiful surroundings its something that inspires me, both as a person and as an artist.

Interests

Along with my passion for the visual arts, there is music and performing.
I've played drums initially and from then moved slowly towards percussions, focusing in Afro Latin traditional rhytms.
That's how I realised that I wanted to develop the connections between these rhytms and the countries they are coming from: Cuba, Brazil, Peru, Colombia and México, which are the main ones I enjoy practicing and performing.

  • arts
  • walking
  • traveling
  • pottery
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • drums
  • swimming
  • art history
  • history
  • visual arts
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I like several music genres, both traditional and modern/fussion: Afro Latin, Flamenco, Hindu, West African, etc.
I also like certain bands and singers that represent for me the music style they play, whether they are modern or have left an important footprint in the history of music.
Movies, well, depending on my mood, different genres as well.
Books, the ones that are related to what I'm developing for my daily life.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Creating an artistic project about Historical Trees from Oaxaca City (from 200 to 600 years old) and making sculptures out of the wood prunned to them as part of the health program for preserving them.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've been teaching drawing, sculpture, ceramics and Prehispanic Art History. It's been a great experience for me as an artist and as a person.
I keep on learning about music, I'm a percussionist and I'm developing my own songs and musical arreangements.
Here in Puerto, I'm involved in a project about giving kids the freedom to explore all the possibilities they might like to try out. It's about inspiring them to do whatever they imagine to do, and supporting them, technically, and trust their innate talent.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Croatia, Guatemala, Montenegro, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Alberto’s full profile. It’s free!