Alec Mitchell's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 75% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alec’s full profile.

Overview

  • 29 references 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Entrepreneur
  • Bachelors of Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am an active outdoorshuman interested in exploring the world, building and working with amazing companies, and finding meaning in existence. I am easy to get along with, always clean and contribute more than my part and very comfortable in just about any situation. I love meeting fascinating people with interesting backgrounds from interesting places. I run a small company, so I am often split between putting time into that and unplugging outside when I can!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet people who are local to the areas I am going to, or people from other areas visiting where I live, learn about their culture, habits, favorite spots, differences, similarities, and favorite activities. Would always prefer a creaky old couch with a pokey spring, great company and helping out, to a motel/hotel.

Interests

I have a diverse set of interests including creating purpose, cryptocurrencies, the economy of energy, startup companies, meditative practices, primitive skills, wild harvesting food, building design, skiing, wine/mead making, cooking, backpacking, camping, gardening, food forests and more!

  • culture
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • gardening
  • socializing
  • painting
  • survival
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • business
  • psychology
  • mountain biking
  • climbing
  • caving

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Explosions in the Sky is my favorite band, and I enjoy genres similar to it along with some 80s+90s rock and most music in general.

Movies: I love bad movies, good movies and especially the Pulp Fiction-Reservoir Dogs type category. Thought provoking is great.

Books to name a few: The Alchemist, Way of the Peaceful Warrior, Journey of Sorceries, Last American Man, From Cradle to Cradle, 4 Hour Work Week, some Tom Brown books and most any Everest/Hatchet type wilderness journey and adventure!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Spent 3 months straight camping, hiking, mountaineering and kayaking in the wilderness of New Zealand

Teach, Learn, Share

I am happy to share many things, but often find myself very busy with work and other commitments. Some guests I have the time to hang out and exchange ideas, thoughts, and experiences. In other instances, this is not possible based on how involved I am with other commitments at the time. When available I can share and teach...

-Primitive skills including primitive fire making, shelter building, some tracking, plant identification, some psychology of survival, primitive cooking, carving and more.

-Backpacking/camping techniques, tips, tricks, advanced wilderness medical care (WFR) and talk about gear systems forever.

-Carpentry including roofing, siding, drywall repair, painting, window install, basic framing, basic pluming, basic electrical and many forms of woodworking.

-Wine, mead, cider, and other alcohol making.

-Welding, some basic smithing knowledge, some fun car modification shenanigans

-Gardening (trained Master Gardener!), bee keeping, hunting, food processing, food gratitude, and long term food storage

-Business and entrepreneurial type things (I own a company and think it’s a blast!)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share food, cooking, knowledge (any of the Teach, Learn, Share items), good vibes, cleaning help and great company. If anyone is in need of food and financially strained I am always happy to help them out and then send them off with some supplies!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, Dominica, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, New Zealand, Panama, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Russian Federation, Singapore, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, United States Minor Outlying Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alec’s full profile.