Alex Divemen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 16 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Basque, German
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Teacher
  • PhD
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Hasi da inbasioa.

ABOUT ME

I'm a 31 year-old guy from the Northern part of Spain, Pamplona. I have studied English Literature at university and currently I'm working as a Spanish and literature teacher. I'm really lucky, because I've been able to study what I really wanted to study and it is a passion of my life. I'm also doing a PhD in Literature, about John Fante, an Italo-North-American author.

We live in a very chaotic world, but if there are some things which can help to understand life, they are literature and music. One can find the essence of life in good books and in good music. They feed our souls and they help me keep on going with this marvelous life, sometimes hard, though.

I'm a really easy-going person, nice, always laughing and trying to understand all life points of view and learn from new and different people. I don't mind if you are rich, poor, gay, hetero, black or blue: I will always learn something from you and it will make nothing but enriching my perspectives.

I enjoy conversations, deep ones mostly, but it doesn't matter. I believe language to be a really enforcing tool to grow up in life and conversations are pleasurable ways of sharing lives.

I'm also a very adaptable person, so I don't mind if you want to go out some nights, just chilling out in the sofa or do some tourism on your own or with me. I consider myself a comprehensive person and I will respect all your opinions and decisions.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I used to have another profile, but I lost its password, so I had to do another one.

I have hosted in Madrid several people: Frenchs, Dutchs, Chinese, Germans... And they were all amazing experiences. So I am sure your stay will be great as well!

On the other hand I was hosted in Berlin twice by the same person. He was a great person and he became a really good friend. So I guess you won't have any problems if you host me.

I believe it to be a bidirectional thing: it's good to be hosted, but you should host or meet some people as well. I think I have hosted several times and I would like to be hosted in case I need it :)

Interests

I love music, listening, playing and recording (I'm setting up a small home studio), I like going to the mountains, a good beer, wine or gin and tonic, good food and pleasant people who like sharing and are open-minded. I also love reading and that feeling of greatness and smallness one gets when finishing a good book. I like the sun and when birds warble. I also like and need silence sometimes.

On the other hand, last January two little dogs came to my life by chance. They were lost, something happened to their mum and we decided to rescue and give them a house. They are one of the best things that have happened in my whole life. They have changed everything, they give me a true happiness everyday, always waiting for me and showing me that life can be very beautiful. Their names are Mia and Vincent (because of Pulp Fiction, of course). And in May one friend gave me a border collie as a present, whose name is Kirei. She is amazing, a little ball, very intelligent and playful. You can see pictures of them in my photos.

  • dogs
  • birds
  • books
  • literature
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • reading
  • music
  • teaching
  • tourism
  • mountains
  • trekking

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite book is _The Sound and The Fury_, by William Faulkner. So, if you have read it and enjoyed it, your request is automatically accepted :D

Other writers I enjoy are George Orwell, Marcel Proust, Cervantes, Oscar Wilde, T.S. Eliot, Kafka, Conan Doyle, Nietzsche, Shakespeare, James Joyce, Bukowski, Thomas Brussig, Ezra Pound, Gabriel García Márquez, Hemingway...

Regarding music, I like almost everything, but especially rock in all its variants (from metal to indie pop), classical music, reggae and jazz.

My favourite bands or musicians are, among others, Pink Floyd, Beethoven, Wagner, Radiohead, Wilco, The Beatles, The Who, Biffy Clyro, Nirvana, Standstill, Arcade Fire, Bon Iver, 36 Crazyfists, Branford and Wynton Marsalis, The Black Keys, Metallica, Pedro The Lion, Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Janis Joplin, Portishead, Duke Ellington, Kerobia, Alpha Blondie, Bob Marley, Asian Dub Foundation, Smetana... You can see a list of music I like, and maybe if you are with me you'll have to suffer a bit from this sickness called music, because I'm kind of freak with it, I'm always listening to music :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=83AylhRtQgs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_aFmziaRdU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AYJcb5v54y8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rblbQ5VG-Qw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vao9EuVT-u0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6pSffe4k60

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bo6lKQYVUBU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7-EEGiABBU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_TXlf67-yfQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5c9w6uWBOI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRUbxVRGjMw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qkH0rbFCHb0

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I especially remember one night in my grandfather's farm. It was summer, a warm, clear and bright night. My friends and I were lying on the terrace and the amount of stars we could observe was simply impressive.

I'm also learning the most difficult language in the world :)

I guess I like the small things of life. There resides its essence.

Teach, Learn, Share

I consider life to be a compendium of different fragments. Each person has to look for those fragments which suit his or her soul. Currently I'm trying to get the fragments that fit me. Life is a constant search for personal identity, to accept new points of view and to assemble them into your own soul.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can offer talks, experiences, points of view, some music, relaxed and quiet moments, some beers out,and of course my cooking skills. Wouldn't you enjoy a just freshly made Spanish omelette or some home made pizza? :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Myanmar, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.

My Groups