AlejandroTurbay's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see AlejandroTurbay’s full profile.


  • 81 references 47 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Arabic, Czech, French, Italian, Portuguese
  • 45, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Language Teacher, Photographer, Travel Blogger, Speaker
  • Masters
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I´m a fun and easygoing Colombian who grew up in NYC.

Back to traveling after the first leg of my Around the World Trip had to be paused because of COVID...
The last trip lasted 4 years , the last 2 without flying :)

Here are some news stories about my travels and photography:

my travel blog:


Video describing my 4 Year RTW Trip:

Article that CouchSurfing wrote about my NYC photo exhibit and trip:


See and experience as much of the world as possible! To feel it, taste it, hear it, dance it, smell it, share it and learn and grow from it!


I am an optimist. I love life and try and live it to the fullest. I always want to give and receive smiles and hugs!
I love all animals so much that I became a vegetarian.

I am a very easygoing person and can adapt to most situations, but am more of a calm and relaxing plans person (dinner and conversations, etc) more than drinking and partying.

I think this link captures my essence:

As a guest or host I am a considerate and clean and tidy person.


-Strangers are friends you haven't met yet!

- OneLove, Buddhism

-"get busy living or get busy dying"

-"some birds weren't meant to be caged,
their feathers were just too bright"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting people and giving and receiving trust and good energy.
I just realized I've been surfing and hosting for over 10 years now!


The first time I heard about it I thought people were crazy to either stay in a strangers home, or let a stranger into their home! Then I tried it and fell in love with it and the idea of people helping each other out and learning and sharing with and from each other! I now know that strangers are friends you haven't met yet!


While I am very mellow, I love being active...I have a hard time watching a ball or something go by me without me wanting to run after it and play. I absolutely love nature and animals

  • culture
  • writing
  • photography
  • dancing
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • sports
  • hitchhiking
  • art
  • nature
  • learning languages
  • adventures
  • slackline
  • vegetarian food
  • hugs
  • learning
  • museums
  • smiling
  • playing football
  • smiles
  • drumming
  • helping others
  • outdoor adventures
  • new adventures

Music, Movies, and Books

... favorite movies would be A Shawshank Redemption, True Romance, PulpFiction, La Vita e Bella...Baraka, Samsara

favorite music: Bob Marley and jamaican music in all its forms; reggae, ska, dancehall,etc.. biggie, rolling stones, jack johnson, dave matthews band, also love classic rock, jazz, hiphop, salsa

favorite book 100 Años de Soledad, the catcher in the rye, cradle to cradle, Love in the time of Cholera, Sapiens, 50 Self Help Classics

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Amongst my favorites are:
-A four year RTW Trip...
-Cycling across Cambodia for a month
-Motorbiking Vietnam for 2 months
-Hitchhiking Myanmar for a month
-Giving a speech in front of 450 people at the Louvre
-Having my Masters Thesis win an award and be published into a book
-Kissing a dolphin, elephant, camel, hippo and tiger ;)
-Swimming with whale sharks, manta rays, turtles, sharks!
-Having photo exhibits in Bogota, Kuwait City, NYC
-Played soccer with my hero Carlos "el pibe" Valderrama
-Completing a Vipassana Course of 10 days of silent meditation

Teach, Learn, Share

Would love to learn about you, your country, your culture, even things you know how to cook...

happy to share and teach you about myself, my country, places I´ve lived in and been.... also happy to practice english, spanish, french, italian, portuguese with you... or teach you a little bit of salsa, merengue, reggaeton, or the few things I know how to cook.. like Risotto :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

the possibilities are endless!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Aruba, Austria, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Laos, Lebanon, Malawi, Mexico, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Palestine, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Rwanda, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Czech Republic, Sweden, United States

Old School Badges

  • 3 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see AlejandroTurbay’s full profile.

My Groups