Aleksandr Helli and Maeve Mooney's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Aleksandr’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Estonian, Russian; learning French, Swedish, Ukrainian
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Alex: Web-Developer, Designer, Online Shenanigans. Maeve:...
  • Alex: Bachelor's Degree in Web-Development.
  • From Copenhagen, Capital Region of Denmark, Denmark
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To travel around the world!

In 2016: To cycle from Denmark to Portugal on bikes we built ourselves. :)

ABOUT ME

Hey there, we’re Alex and Maeve, two nomads in search of adventure in a trip around the world together. Alex is a web-designer from Tallinn, Estonia and I'm Maeve, a writer from Boston, Massachusetts.

Alex and I met in Brighton, England and bonded through a love of travel and music. We’re both singers, creators, and nomads by blood. After a Winter and Spring spent living together on the beautiful seafront of Brighton, we found ourselves inspired to go and explore the world again under the summer sunlight of 2014.

We travel by doing volunteering work for farms, eco farms, hostels, B&Bs, and just about any projects that need our help. For the past three years, we moved from country to country via hitch-hiking, but recently we've changed to travelling by bicycles that we built ourselves, using a lot of recycled material. We like to go anywhere from capital cities to little villages in mountain ranges, enjoying the scenery as it passes us by.

CouchSurfing is a fantastic platform we like to use when we're moving from one volunteering project to the next. It gives us the opportunity to meet fellow travellers, make new friends, share our experiences, and leave behind good memories on our way across Europe, Asia, Australia, North America, South America, and Africa.

We're also filming a documentary and blogging about our experiences. We talk a lot about the places we've been, awesome things that we've done, and of course the lovely people we've met and shared a part of our lives with along the way. If you're interested in checking out our progress, feel free to take a look at our YouTube and Facebook pages - we're at YouNomadBro. :)

PHILOSOPHY

"Carpe diem!"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Alex is a fantastic cook, web-designer, computer technician, bike-fanatic, and well-experienced traveller. He's always eager to help out by fixing what's broken and making new friends wherever we are. If you have computers, phones, or cameras around your place, be prepared for him to take a look at it and enter a 45-minute discussion telling you everything you might need to know. :)

I (Maeve) am a writer and musician. I love to have deep conversations with people about the world and help them out the best I can, even just by recommending a good book to read. Story-telling is my favourite way to pass time, so I love to learn about peoples' lives, their greatest passions, the way they spent their time and the places they'd like to go in the future. I think everyone is unique in that they have something rare to share with the world.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far, we've only had good experiences with hosts from this website. We're blown away by the kindness and interest people have shown us. :)

Interests

Alex: graphic-design, computers, gaming, trail-biking, heavy metal, meeting new people, travel, motorbikes, cars, cooking.

Maeve: Writing, singing, playing guitar, biking, travel, poetry, drawing, bringing up animals, gaming, baking.

  • animals
  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • poetry
  • singing
  • design
  • documentaries
  • cooking
  • baking
  • running
  • traveling
  • cars
  • blogging
  • drawing
  • music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • hitchhiking
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Alex:
-Music: Death Metal
-Books: fantasy books.
-Movies: The Prestige, Gone In 60 Seconds, old James Bond movies.

Maeve:
-Music: Punk, Folk, Rock
-Books: Southern-gothic tales, fantasy, tragedy.
(Poetry: Poe, Percy Shelley, Emily Dickinson, Charles Bukowski)
-Movies: Full Metal Jacket, In Bruges, Apocalypse Now.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Alex took a 6,000km train from Saint Petersburg to Vladivostok that took 28 days and was the most disturbing yet fascinating travel experience he's had. The run-down train was packed with people who all met each other by the time the month-long trip finished.

On my 20th Birthday, I (Maeve) visited a lovely little place in Germany called Zittau, climbed a mountain onto the Czech Republic border, watched a brilliant sunrise from the view up there, and hitch-hiked all the way to Prague by nightfall. It was a lovely little adventure.

The longest distance we've hitchhiked together in 1 day (less than 24 hours) was from Bratislava, Slovakia to Bucharest, Romania - a 1,000km+ journey!

Teach, Learn, Share

Alex and I love to share stories with hosts and travellers. We have long histories of moving from country to country throughout our childhoods and adolescence, so this kind of life is definitely in our blood. We enjoy exchanging skills where we can, helping out hosts, learning all about their favourite things in life, and making our stay with them as memorable as possible. :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Travelling is all about the people you meet: we'd much rather dedicate time to making good friends than to taking pictures of touristic locations . You can learn so much about people from their interests, where they've been, and what they do in life. I think that any two people in the world can become friends if they find a common interest, so finding that interest is where our hearts are. We're here to learn about every culture and share a part of our lives with everyone. :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Estonia, Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Aleksandr’s full profile. It’s free!