Alex Cary's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 50, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I am an easy going, self employed mother of two, originally from England. I have lived in the US since 1988, mostly in Portland. I love to travel and before coming to the US traveled as a child to many countries in Europe and also a little in Asia.
I have lived in 6 states, including Hawaii and Pennsylvania, and travelled to about 35 others, as well as Canada, Mexico and Costa Rica.
When I'm not dreaming of traveling, I enjoy hiking, walking and running and relaxing with my friends. I love to read and installed a Little Free Library outside our house.
I love cook and grow my own veggies. A definite work in progress!!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting people and sharing stories over a cold beer! I've couchsurfed all my life..the best way to travel as far as I'm concerned! I'm happy to find this community, since I've only traveled this way through friends or friends of friends so far.

I am one of the co-organizers of the Stumptown weekly meet up at Cartopia on Thursday evenings. It’s a great way for visitors and locals to connect. We meet at a food cart pod close in SE every Thursday at 7pm and often move on to other venues as the evening progresses. Join us!

Interests

People!
Traveling, hiking, yoga, art, reading, food, wine, beer and a great cocktail!

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to music all day, mostly rock, alternative.
Don't watch too many movies, but read as much as I can. Recent favorites: All the Light we Cannot See, The Goldfinch, Wild, Night Circus, How to be a Woman, Where'd you go Bernadette, The Chronology of Water.....
Old favorites: The Alchemist, One Hundred Years of Solitude, Confederacy of Dunces....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Walking on a pier in Florida during a year long road trip and hearing someone calling my name. It turned out to be a friend from Germany who was randomly on the same beach! I ended up stopping in the town (Naples) and working and hosting more of this group of friends who came to visit. Epic.

(Another amazing thing..my friends uncle and I are currently building a 250 sq ft addition onto my house!!)

Teach, Learn, Share

I am not good at teaching, unless you are good at learning by experience!
I enjoy learning anything that involves free flowing use of my hands. I'm a natural at anything art, construction, building, sculpting etc. I would happily share my talents...nothing makes me happier than creating.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love to cook and have owned 3 restaurants.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Costa Rica, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jersey, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Scotland, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.

My Groups