Alex Sentinella

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!


  • University tutor, Biology office admin
  • I have an undergraduate degree in Genetics/Biology
  • From Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


To get out there and meet as many interesting people as I can.


Travelled all across the US and Canada for 6 months (and 2 months in the UK) in 2013, meeting so many interesting people and going to awesome places. That was my first solo travel experience, and it was incredible. Now that I'm back, I want to try to get into hosting as I had such a great time surfing overseas.

As for me, I'm laid back and easygoing. I can be a bit opinionated about certain things I'm passionate about (especially when drinking), although I'm always very open minded and interested in listening to new ideas.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


So far I've only couchsurfed, but I'm about to get into hosting.


After 8 months traveling I've came to realise that couchsurfing was the way to go. Most of my great experiences have occurred while couch surfing. So many awesome people and I've learnt so much (psychic vampires and the EFS-100 was particularly memorable).


Comedy: Live gigs especially (went to the Edinburgh Fringe last year)

Music: Rock, indie, blues, bluegrass (recently taken up the banjo)

Science: Biology, ecology, conservation etc.

Nature: Camping, bushwalking (hiking)

TV: I watch way too much.

Cooking: I am by no means an expert cook, but enjoy cooking and learning new recipes.

Film: So many (I mention a few below) although lately I've been going on a Woodey Allen binge.

Art: I also love going to museums, art galleries and live theatre.

Music, Movies, and Books

If I had to choose a favourite maybe The Blues Brothers. Some others are Pulp Fiction (and other Tarantino), Fight Club, a lot of Woodey Allen, Hitchcock (Rear Window is especially good), Kubrick, Monty Python, Fargo and The Big Lebowski (and a bunch of the Cohen brothers' stuff).

Some bands I like: The Black Keys, White Stripes, The Hives, Gorillaz, Beastie Boys, Jurrasic 5, James Brown, Beck, Kasabian, Vampire Weekend, Devil Makes Three, The Cat Empire.

Books I have enjoyed recently: The Earth Abides, The Road, Brave New World, Day of the Triffids(I'm noticing a theme). Also, I've started on the Game of Thrones Books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I'm going to have to update this later, so many great things from my trip last year (impromptu Gettysburg roadtrip was pretty sweet).

At uni I went on a summer exchange to Singapore to study biodiversity. We got to travel to this beautiful tropical island in Malaysia for ‘field work’. Every day consisted of a few hours of pretty interesting surveying or data collection (snorkelling or watching fiddler crabs fighting each other) followed by drinking, eating and relaxing on the beach for the rest of the day.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Czech Republic, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Japan, Malaysia, Poland, Singapore, Slovakia, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups