Alex Dorval

Red Lake, Ontario, Canada

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Italian, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Mining Engineer
  • B. Scs. in Mining Engineering
  • From Québec, Qc, Canada
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me


I try to travel anywhere I've never been when I have a bit of free time (about 2-4 weeks a year).


Easy going, I enjoy travelling, practicing about any sport, tasting about any food/drinks, playing and listening to music. I enjoy life as a whole.


Be who you are and do whatever you feel like. Don't fall into society's model of what you should and shouldn't do.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I would like to host but rarely anyone comes to this small town called Red Lake... Otherwise I couchsurf whenever I have an opportunity. I met some awesome people and made friends that way (and intend to keep doing it).


I got here because I met a girl in Belgium and we ended up sleeping on her couch, it was way better to actually visit the city with someone that knows it rather than following guides or just going randomly around. But walking randomly was pretty fun too.


Music (listen and play), Sports, Games (video and board), Foods, Beer and whisky, mining, outdoors, climbing, hiking, travelling the world. I travel a lot to visit microbreweries and brewpubs.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music : Any kind of music, except Nightclub music, techno and dubsteb.
Movies : Any well made movie, but I'd rather see an action or comedy.
Books : Philosophy, action, thriller, fantasy, beer, mining

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

While I was a student in Mining Engineering, three of us travelled to Poland to visit 5 different kind of mines we do not have in Canada. It was the best mining experience and was part of a 55 European tour trip that I would start again anytime, had I time to do it.

Teach, Learn, Share

Share a smile. Life is lesson, meeting new people is learning and teaching.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I usually travel around with some local products from either Québec or Canada, depending on where I am going. I can teach you how to cook delicious Crêpes too.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cuba, England, France, Germany, Jamaica, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!