Alex Harper's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • MSc Student
  • University of Glasgow & Royal Holloway University of London
  • From Epsom
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

On the 14th and 15th of May I will be visiting Barcelona following from a 10 day geological fieldtrip in the Pyrenees mountains. Instead of using cheap hostels, I am hoping to find a local host for those two days. I would far rather meet a local who knows the area and can advise me on the best places to go and see, instead of mindlessly wondering around as a lost tourist. It's a short trip, so I hope to make the most of it before heading back to London! It would be great to find a host who would be up for chilling and hanging out on the Friday night. However many of my colleagues are also spending two days in Barcelona so I can be a very independent couchsurfer as well as I won't be short of people to meet (however after spending 10 days in the field with them I'd rather meet new people!).
Happy to answer any more questions you may have. More of my general information is below.

About Me:
I'm a very laid back and friendly person who prefers to be upfront with most people - and expects the same in return. I've got a good sense of humour and always prefer to laugh at things than complain about them. I'm a fairly work hard/play hard kinda guy with very high ambitions, and tend to enjoy the company of people who are equally ambitious about their hobbies/interests/passions. I'm the kind of person who likes going to festivals or nights in London but also known to enjoy just chilling out with people being lazy watching movies (Also a big 420 fan). I love to cook for people as it tends to be one of the few times I make a big effort to try cooking new things. I'm not the argumentative type, so I prefer to hang out with laid back people who don't get too stressed out about things. I'm the kind of person who tends to befriend everyone I meet, I'm not judgemental, or stuck up.

Sports I've done:
I've got a very athletic background, competed a very competitive level of gymnastics in my youth, and became a coach in my late teens. I was a rugby boy back in school and have also trained various types of martial arts. Also a fairly regular squash player and casual gym goer. Love skiing.

Places I've worked:
I used to want to work in finance, so I've been lucky enough to experience the city boy lifestyle of London. Being a bit of a talker, I later moved towards sales/client facing roles and worked as an oil & gas recruiter in London for a year before heading back to university to study my MSc in Petroleum Geophysics.

What I want to do:
Career wise I am hoping to get into oil & gas exploration, partly because I want to travel the world with my career. My dream is to one day end up spending a good amount of time working in places like Argentina or South-East Asia, ideally learning languages along the way.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

The summer of 2013 I was fortunate enough to spend 9 weeks road tripping California, during which I used the couchsurfing website to find hosts and friendly locals in each city. It was an experience I will never forget and I wouldn't hesitate to couchsurf again as I truly made some friends for life from it.

Interests

I'm quite a unique person when it comes to my range of interests, I've been involved in a variety of sports through my youth, however I was a national competing gymnast between the ages of 7 and 13, and then went on to become a coach with what is now 6 years of experience. But aside from that, I play rugby, golf, squash, airsoft, mixed martial arts, and I also enjoy skiing. I'm a pretty active person, however I'm known to enjoy just chilling out and engaging in intellectual (or non) debate when the mood is right..

  • arts
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • coach
  • movies
  • traveling
  • skiing
  • sports
  • martial arts
  • gymnastics
  • rugby
  • racquetball
  • golf
  • languages
  • mountains
  • squash

Teach, Learn, Share

Having been a coach for 6 years I love teaching people things and seeing people improve and grow from my own personal efforts. However I love engaging in debates in order to develop my understanding and views on certain topics of conversation. I personally believe that the things we learn from other people are the things that stay with us the longest, which is the reason I believe it's important to meet and learn from as many people as possible!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Croatia, Denmark, France, Greece, Mauritius, Netherlands, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!