Alex Runhaar's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning Dutch, German, Thai
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Online Marketing
  • Bcomm (Marketing) , TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers o...
  • From Cape Town
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Do a handstand while riding an elephant

ABOUT ME

Hey I'm Alex. I grew up in Cape Town, SA and have since seen a few places around the world.

My first trip in 2011 was a contiki tour (aka booze cruise) in Europe. I met my girlfriend here and we've been travelling together ever since. I went on to see America and have lived in Thailand and Canada.

Currently I am in my gf's hometown (just outside of Vancouver, Canada) and will be on the road again in SE Asia this Oct. It'll be our first time in Vietnam and Cambodia, and the second time we settle into the Thai world to live.

PHILOSOPHY

Don't break the law, but break the rules.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Bringing good vibes with me wherever I go.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've only ever been a couchsurfer once during my travels, and it was an awesome experience. I am looking to start couchsurfing often on all my travels from now on and am super eager to be able to host when we are settled in Phuket. There is something a couchsurfing experience has which a hostel experience doesn't.

Interests

I'm a sociable guy who thoroughly enjoys eating, cuddling my dog, being active and watching sports.

Lately I've been getting into calisthenics because I love pushing my body to do something it's not used to. I plan on taking up Muay Thai and rock climbing during my time living in Phuket.

I love gorging on a good veggie meal. I could easily make sweet love to a bath full of rice and mangoes in SE Asia.

  • dogs
  • traveling
  • watching sports
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • law

Music, Movies, and Books

HUGE movie and tv series fan. I like Gladiator , Lion king , Aladdin , Scarface, ....there are too many to name. Game of Thrones, Tim and Eric, I'm a huge greek mythology and supernatural fan.

The only books I really read are self-improvement books. If it has something I can take out of it, I like it.

Music: Alt-J, Billy Talent, Jay Malinowski, Queens of the Stoneage, Avenged Sevenfold, Three Days Grace, Lana del Rey. I usually like rock but am open to lots.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Was caught in a Tsunami evacuation in Phuket after only 30 mins of arriving.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love teaching others new skills, especially sport. Ask me about South Africa and I'll be more than happy to share my knowledge

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, South Africa, Thailand, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!