Alex Harris's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 23 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Forest Research
  • MSc, BSc (Environmental, Geography based)
  • From Warrington, North West England
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

On a mission to enjoy all things

ABOUT ME

I love travel and the travelling atmosphere and like to meet the locals as much as possible. I'm a keen kayaker, climber, and surfer though I'm not that good at either! I also like hiking and have been on several multi-day treks all over the place including the GR20, Lycian Way, Namib Naukluft trail, West-coat trail Vancouver Island, Wankapeka track New Zealand etc... I am friendly, sometimes shy, I like to try new things and go to new places. Recently returned from living in Botswana so my profile has been a bit stale as I have been without communication, however I am back in Blitey (UK) now and looking forward to getting back into the CS atmosphere.

PHILOSOPHY

There is good and bad in every place. Find the good, and you can avoid the bad. General Philosophy.... Live fast.... your time here is limited.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had my first experience in Lima with a great girl Lourdes, I hope all couch surfing experiences are as helpful and kind. I have hosted where I live in England and am glad to dust off my couch for passers by, now in Wales.

Interests

Climb, Surf, Kayak, Hike, Swim, Surf, Travel, Surf, Photography and all things Bright and Beautiful

  • birds
  • photography
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • track and field
  • swimming

Music, Movies, and Books

Music!!!!! It's the future! Favourites are indie, reggae, some rock. All that normal stuff + Clandestino, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, RHCP's, Feeder, The Cat Empire, Trajically Hip, Postal Service.....

Movies, big fan... too many to list; GMT, Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind, Lord Of War, Old School, Bonbon, Motorcycle Diaries, Once Were Warriors, Elling, Fight Club, Anchorman, Whale Rider.

Books- read when I travel but not at home generally; Shantaram, A Fine Balance, The Sorrow of War, Under Milk Wood, Wildwood.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I haven't done anything amazing yet but hope too one day!!

Teach, Learn, Share

I have travelled with many who hope to improve their English and I enjoy teaching and mocking their accents or grammatical errors (then they usually do the same when I try to speak even 1 word in their native language!!). I look forward to learning more Spanish should I spend time with Spanish speakers.

Because I now live on the coast I would be happy to take you out surfing for the day. I also enjoy teaching about trees and birds, both of which I enjoy the company of!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bolivia, Botswana, Cambodia, Canada, Cook Islands, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, India, Ireland, Kazakhstan, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Namibia, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Russian Federation, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United States, Viet Nam, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Botswana, New Zealand, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!