Alexander H's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 41 References 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Spanish; learning Hungarian, Italian, Latin
  • 34, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • pharma enterprise
  • good enough to offer some nice evenings ;) Not good enoug...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Travel&host, learn&share!


We're a young couple enjoying life in a very exciting and historical city everyone should have visited at least once in his lifetime. Sabine (after having studied nutritional sciences) is working for a big pharma enterprise. We live with our cats "Filou" and "Lilly" in a 2-floored-house with terrace and garden in northern Vienna, nearby the metro, nearby a park, to shopping malls and entertainment facilities, to the river Danube, which makes it a very calm and green area compared to most parts of Vienna, but still very close to everything you might need (Vienna's infrastructure seems to be one of the best in Europe).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


After having signed up and hosted very nice people, we have felt the "philosophy" behind couchsurfing thanks to, for example, some outstanding people in Italy in 2008 and to our dear friend Didier from Nice, France. We really want to pass on this "spirit" of friendship and community to others who don't see couchsurfing primarily as a way to stay in a hotel for free. It is much more than just that and we'd prefer if people would share this opinion or be open for it. We think that the idea behind couchsurfing should be preserved and protected (after a very well-experienced of our hosts told us lots of stories about people using it only as a way to stay for free) from being corrupted by people who don't expect more than just sleeping for free. We'll try to show our guests around in our city (depending on how busy we'll be) but we also leave them all the privacy and independence in planning and visiting they need! Before their arrival, we can e-mail our guests a metro map and some itineraries to our home, along with some information and links that will help them with preparing their trip. If you'd like to receive this "information package", please let me know your e-mail-address when requesting.
At their arrival in our home, we'll provide our guests with a viennese tourist map.


Alex: sports (not very much lately ;), reading, music and recently listening to audiobooks, photography (especially HDR and macro), nature, traveling/sightseeing, our cats and my dog, languages, a bit of gardening, of course couchsurfing,...

Sabine: nature, cooking (and of course eating), gardening, our cats, reading, traveling, music (big fan of "The Frames", but I really like classical music or some bands such as Beirut, too), recently iconic painting,...

  • cats
  • dogs
  • photography
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • gardening
  • shopping
  • politics
  • reading
  • tv
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • classical music
  • skiing
  • sports
  • swimming
  • languages
  • sightseeing

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Among the last amazing things was our trip through Northern Italy and Southern France (Nice), where we had two outstanding experiences:

- an overwhelming firework in Cannes, lasting more than 1/2 hour and following great Russian classical music. Besides this, Didier, our great host in Nice, will always be a good friend!
- the italian "aperitivo" in Milano where we met very nice people, thanks to our very social and incredibly helpful host Maurizio, was an unforgettable experience. We felt the italian cordialità.

Teach, Learn, Share

We'll happily have conversations in different languages as it's a great practice. Everyone could benefit from practising languages, ask for translations, etc. Our English is quite good, we're intermediate in Italian and Alex speaks French fluently. Besides this, we speak German of course and would like to learn Spanish and Hungarian in the future.
We'd love to learn about international recipes, about local artists, bands, etc. For example, our amazing host Didier from Nice is a fantastic cook and has cooked a meal that we tried to reproduce. Or Abbey from New Zealand, who showed us her country on pictures, websites and introduced us to some of her country's music, simply by sitting together in front of a computer, watching and listening to youtube (that was an interesting evening).

I don't think I could enumerate things we could learn from each other, since every information, every opinion hosts and guests will share might be enriching and will probably enable to see things differently, or to learn about anything new. May it be about politics, history, gardening, knitting, languages, biodiversity of aquarium fishes, photography.. everything you'd like to tell us could be interesting, everything we'd tell you might capture your attention.
(Although the examples of knitting or the aquarium fishes wouldn't probably make it to our top10 most interesting list ;)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    9 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups