Alexander Gollan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 21 References 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Chemical/ Process Engineer
  • Bachelor of Chemical Engineering at RMIT
  • From Mount Isa, Queensland, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Explore my surroundings, make new friends, make the most of my new home.

ABOUT ME

Well... I'm a regular guy Aussie bloke I guess, grown up close (3 and a half hours) to Melbourne and did my studies there so I'm passionate about my footy (AFL) and love the Melbourne culture and what the place has to offer. Growing up in the country though I am no stranger to a quieter environment, spending lots of time out in the bush camping and lots of time out in the boat with my old man fishing. Being an Australian I love the cricket as well and play a bit.

Completed a Bachelor of Chemical Engineering and work as a Metallurgist here in the Isa. I have recently started work again after a lot of travel and chill time. I recently moved to outback Queensland from Victoria and keen to explore, it's a remote and interesting place up here. I want to give back to the CS community and host travellers that are keen/brave enough to visit my new town!

PHILOSOPHY

Give people the time of day and they will do the same for you, be genuine and not a pretender, do the things you love and live life on your own terms.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have finished travelling around South America, North America, Morocco and Europe (Spain, France, Germany, Netherlands, Italy, Greece etc.) so I guess surfing the most.

I have a full-time professional job so I'm not super available but will be happy to host travellers that come through!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Only positive things to report at this stage!

Really enjoying the couches of Americans and Canadians but more-so the fun activities that irrevocably ensue after meeting a fellow Couchsurfer.

Interests

Refer to the Personal Description section for that for the most part, other stuff includes mountain biking, kayaking, camping, gym, cafes and the odd cheeky night out on the tiles 😉

  • culture
  • environment
  • beer
  • bbq
  • running
  • walking
  • boating
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • camping
  • surfing
  • cricket
  • engineering

Music, Movies, and Books

I´m not much of a movie buff but I have to say Godfather 1 & 2, Stanley Kubrick films like Apocalypse Now, The Shining (loved that one) etc. On a lighter note I loved The Big Lebowski when I was younger, the classic Arnold Schwartzenegger films like Predator and true lies and other modern day blockbusters... And Rambo.

Music I would say a lot of different stuff... Rock, Metal, Classical, Reggae, Hip Hop, Alternative, some Electro, Blues, Jazz... It's all good stuff.

Books... Scar Tissue: Anthony Kiedis and Lonely Planet: South America On A Shoestring. That's it I'm afraid...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

During my time in Peru I did the Santa Cruz trek in Hurraz with a couple of mates. I remember the first day of the trek to be a lot toughter than any of us anticipated, who'd of thought trekking at 4000+ metres would be such a b? We eventually reached the top of the pass on dark and found a place, albeit not a great patch to set up camp. After the hard slog the day before but the morning after was pretty special, seemingly face-to-face with snow-capped 6000m+ peaks revealed by the rising sun. All the snow covering our tent and bags weren't such a big issue!

Teach, Learn, Share

GO TO COLOMBIA!!!!

Another thing I know a bit about is buying and owning a car in the USA as a foreigner. I can help you with that! Don't ask me how to choose one though...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Drinks, stories, culture, my couch...

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Peru, Spain, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups