Alexandra Prevot's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexandra’s full profile.

Overview

  • 163 references 147 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Korean, Spanish
  • 33, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • Writer & French Teacher
  • Literature, Sociology, Statistics
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello, you!

On the main photo, you can see Thomas and me.
We are French writers exploring the world.

I like to spend my free time to go to the theatre, cinema, concerts while I am in the city.
And when I am in the countryside, I like hiking in the mountains, swimming, enjoying the nature.

In both cities and countryside, I love eating :) I am always curious of discovering new tastes and always in for an ice cream or chocolate, nevermind if I am full, or if it is cold!

I'm writing children books. My first one was published in 2014 in Guadeloupe (French Caribbeans where we lived before). I published 5 yet.
I am also working on an illustrated book about bean-to-bar chocolate.

I quitted my work as a statistician in September 2014 to get a new masters degree at la Sorbonne to be a French as a foreign language teacher. Then, I have been a French teacher in South Korea for two years. Now, I am teaching French in Casablanca, Morocco.

https://www.facebook.com/Les-rencontres-de-Bombilo-1899081363644890/
http://www.plbeditions.com/souscoll-Les_rencontres_de_Bombilo-23-0-0-0-0.html

I live with Thomas that is a writer too ( published "Le Pyromane", and "Vivarium" this year), and a musician (Ernesto Violin, you'll find it on Bandcamp).
We have a black cat, Diego, very cute and friendly! We love him!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

During two years in Rennes, we hosted a lot of people. We used to live in the very historic center of the city and I was quite good at architecture to make a nice walk downtown with my guests.

Then, we tried a new style of life for 3 years in deep Guadeloupe, where you can't do anything without driving. So I put the architecture away (but we still can talk about it) and learn the names of trees and marvelous fruits you can see/eat everywhere here.
A nice couchsurfer hosted us when we first arrived and helped us fitting well while looking for a flat.

We moved to a new flat in Paris for 2 years and we were still very happy to host people :)

Then we moved to South Korea in September 2016 and are looking forward to get a couch and host again and again... But Gunsan seems not to be attractive... Please come and visit us !!

Now we are in Casablanca! I get many requests, very short and unpersonnalized... Please take some time to write about you, why you are visiting Morocco, and would like to stay with us.

I think CS makes the world a better place to live in.

Interests

Literature, music (especially 60's pop rock folk music, and classical music), cinema (all movies!), ethnology, Scuba diving, snorkeling, walking, hiking, badminton

  • writing
  • books
  • literature
  • architecture
  • concerts
  • chocolate
  • wine
  • organic food
  • walking
  • comics
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • violin
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • snorkeling
  • teaching
  • mathematics
  • sociology
  • tea
  • craft beer
  • bean-to-bar

Music, Movies, and Books

Leon Bloy, Witold Gombrowicz, William Faulkner, André Gide, L.-F. Celine, Beckett, G. Bernanos, Octave Mirbeau, Antonio Albanese, Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Roald Dahl, Marie-Aude Murail, Cortazar, Bolaño ...

60's Rock'n'roll, Motown, Ernesto Violin, Nick Cave, Simon Finn, Roy Orbison, Easybeats, Go-betweens, Neutral Milk Hotel, Barbara, Brel, Beatles, Barbarians, Dolly Parton, Dusty Springfield, Chuck Prophet, Chris Isaac, bluegrass, country...

And a lot of movies (I love Marcel Carné, "Les enfants du Paradis" is probably one of the best movies in the world !)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

To fall in Love
Already 13 years living together now!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach French and creative writing :)
I can make chocolate tasting and introduce you to bean-to-bar chocolate world!
Thomas is a great singer and guitarist, he could exchange a lot of things about music! :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

N°1 - favourite coffee shops and bakeries and restaurants...
(we love eating)

Some cooking skills (Thomas is the cook at home! I also cook sometimes), I can teach you some French.
Thomas makes amazing coffee too if you like it in the morning.
I can do a tea ceremony in the evening :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Dominica, Dominican Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jersey, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malaysia, Martinique, Montserrat, Morocco, Netherlands Antilles, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, Guadeloupe, Morocco, South Korea

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexandra’s full profile.

My Groups