Alex Fisher's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • NGO Worker
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a traveller and an NGO worker currently based in Iraqi Kurdistan where I work in research and peace and conflict.

I used to live in Myanmar for four years, working for a peacebuilding NGO there. Huge love of travelling, exploring new places, and meeting like-minded people.

My experiences on CouchSurfing have always been excellent - my time travelling in Turkey last year has been no different. The most magical part of my trip was to Tunceli, Munzur Valley. Stunning National Park and lovely, welcoming Alevi people. It's a place I'll truly never forget.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

CouchSurfing is a great opportunity to meet new people who share the same passion for travelling and community, share experiences and also, when hosting, to pay back some of the kindness and hospitality that I've experienced in all the countries that I've travelled in Asia and the Middle East.

Interests

My interests aside from travelling are history, politics, music, film, photography and of course humanitarian work.

What I love most about travel are the endless discussions you have long into the night with people you barely know, as well as the fun of hitch-hiking - I did this for about two months in Eastern Anatolia, camping along the way, and had the time of my life truth be told.

  • photography
  • documentaries
  • festivals
  • beer
  • politics
  • traveling
  • music
  • history
  • journalism

Music, Movies, and Books

Favourite novel has to be A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry. I love novels and travel writing about India in general but this is possibly one of the best pieces of work I've ever read.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It involved India and the 2010 Kumbha Mela festival. The rest I'll tell you about over some beers in Chinatown.

Teach, Learn, Share

Language, culture, travel experiences, and my photography: http://alexfisher.photoshelter.com

What I Can Share with Hosts

Depending on where I'm living the next time I'm able to host, I can always show you around the city and cook for you, give you all sorts of tips for your trip!

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Palestine, Poland, Qatar, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Iraq, Myanmar, Nepal, Turkey, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.

My Groups