Alex Grant's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 45% response rate
  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.

Overview

  • 55 references 42 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Lithium Miner
  • Undergrad from McGill U. in Chemical Eng., M.S. from Nort...
  • From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Person who can get along with just about anyone, but always searching for the very special pearls of people who I can't fully understand. Onwards forwards! Queers, women, and people who volunteer to help cook and do dishes to the front!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Trying to give back more than I've received.

Interests

Fishing, all sorts of art, hiking, canoeing, philosophy, literature, science, learning, design, rocks & minerals, business, and alpine streams.

Music, Movies, and Books

Films:
2001: A Space Odyssey, Easy Rider, Rocky Horror Picture Show, Tarantino + Kubrick films, Love Simon

Music:
Leonard Cohen, Bob Dylan, Joan Baez, Pink Floyd, Simon and Garfunkel, Arcade Fire, Janis Joplin

Literature:
Kerouac, Hesse, Hemingway, Leonard Cohen, William S. Burroughs

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

More than one amazing things I have done:

Explored an abandoned uranium mine at night to collect fluorescent minerals.
Hiked Yosemite.
Caught a 18lb muskie in Northern Ontario.
Got stuck on a mountain on Vancouver Island.
Ate too many chicken hearts in Sao Paulo.
Met natives and stayed in the Orinoco River delta in Venezuela (1 hour flight from Caracas, 2 hour drive, 3 hour boat ride).
Watched the sun set from Montmartre.
Climbed the Great Wall of China.
Ate seal flipper pie in St. John's, Newfoundland.
Went to Israel expressly to eat hummus.
Hiked around the Matterhorn.
Drove the entire west coast of North America from Vancouver to Tijuana.
Camped on top of a mountain in Big Sur.
Cofounded a mining technology company.

Teach, Learn, Share

Somehow insert the word "trout" into your request - even if you don't like trout - just a test to see if you are reading my profile ;). Sorry I have to do it...

What I Can Share with Hosts

A new eye on your old city.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Cuba, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Montenegro, Palestine, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Mexico, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.

My Groups