Alex Marcotte's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Student
  • Currently in University (computer science -> translation)
  • From Montreal
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meet interesting people, share my ideas with the rest of the world.

ABOUT ME

I'm 24, I live in the heart of Montreal in Québec, Canada. I've studied computer science for the past 4 years and decided to change my vocation and start studying mathematics and physics. I have a ridiculously large range of interests (most probably caused by my addiction to wikipedia) but if I had to name a few:

movies, especially anything star wars related
music, from classical to rap, listening and creating
biking, luckily I live in Montreal: amazing bike paths!
philosophy, evolution, the animal kingdom (BBC documentaries, yeah!), history, computer science, gaming, programming, physics & math.

I love to talk with people, I get a huge kick out of hearing other people's view on things, even if I have no knowledge on the subject. I'm really curious by nature.

I'm 100% sure we'll have a few interests in common if we ever meet, unless you're a religious freak.. in which case we might clash a little bit!

Also: I do not drink or use drugs. It's a personal choice, not something I try to push on people. Most of my friends are occasional drinkers and I totally respect their choice. This doesn't mean I don't know how to party though!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None! I'm definitly interested in the idea though!

Interests

Computers, traveling (especially Japan, Tibet, Sweden, Spain, UK, Iceland), music, movies, literature (french, german), learning, languages, history, design, sneakers, space, astrophysics, mathematics.

  • animals
  • literature
  • design
  • documentaries
  • partying
  • drinking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • computer science
  • history
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • physics
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Star Wars! Lots of musical, 80's "classics", comedies. I do own ~a lot~ of movies but it's hard to pick my few favorites.

Music: I guess my last.fm profile (http://www.last.fm/user/Alexstre) shows what I listen to the most, but I do appreciate any style of music as long as it's by someone with talent.

Books: Beside comic books I read a lot of science/cs related articles and thesis. Nietzsche, Einstein, Ritchie, Palahniuk, Baudelaire, Maupassant.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think the best is still to come!

Teach, Learn, Share

I love helping people in french. It's my mother tongue and I love it. I'm also pretty skilled in everything related to computers so I can surely help with this also!

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups