Alex WorldTravel's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian
  • 45, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Entrepreneur, Self - employed
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello and let me introduce myself!

My name is Alex or Sasha, how I used to be called in my motherland – Samara, Russia.

I am avid traveler, handyman, inventor and a small business owner. Depending on the season, I do a lot of cycling, running, swimming and cross-country skiing. I like to sustain healthy and active lifestyle with everyday exercise and good nutrition of quality home-made meals. I live at my own countryside home, in the village of Columbus, not far from Toronto. Besides Canada, I spend several months a year travelling around the world and staying with my relatives in Holland, at their countryside estate, which I help to manage.

After moving to Canada from Russia in 1996, I pursued Business and Entrepreneurship studies at York and Ryerson Universities. Soon after, combining my entrepreneurial and handyman skills, I started Landscaping & Home improvement and Rental accommodation small scale businesses. I have also organized Russian Travel club in Toronto in order to unite local community and to offer free presentations with nature and sightseeing tours which I planned and guided. I helped to organize and volunteered at a well known Toronto Russian cultural festivals Carousel and have written travel articles for Russian newspaper such as “Green Toronto” and “How to choose a bicycle and accessories”.

As a passionate traveler and explorer, I am interested in learning and experiencing the life in different parts of the world. I travel in unique and frugal way by choosing my own itineraries, attractions and journey for longer periods of time. I share my travel knowledge and experiences through in-person photo presentations, advice and upload my collections online for the world to see and share. Recently, I have travelled 3000km around Iceland and spent 1 month exploring Cuba which an eye opening experiences.

In the near future, I want to explore my motherland Russia in a club or group travel settings. Besides travelling and meeting people, club activities could include useful presentations, workshops or even YouTube / TV reality show component to document club travel adventures and happenings. It is an ambitious, but nevertheless interesting idea to try.

In addition to all, I am handyman and an inventor. In my home workshop, full of various tools for different jobs, I regularly tinker with repairs, projects and inventions. From changing the engine in my car to fixing electrical or plumbing problems around the house, nothing seems to be out of reach. One such project include universal and unique bike + car magnetic phone holder which I frequently use for navigation. I also want to also build all-in-one bike + panniers travel system for most efficient way to travel with a bike on the plane.

Regarding my private life, I am single and always enjoyed being so, as I value my personal freedom and independence. I do not have kids and never been married. I am not, in particular, looking for any relationship or anything related to that. At the same time, I do not make myself completely unavailable. If extraordinarily and hard to refuse woman comes my way – things may change. In addition, there are a lot of emotional and economic benefits of being together as opposed to living alone. Children and happy families do make life more meaningful, purposeful and complete. Just like in life, there is cons and pros to any situation. It is all about choosing priorities and importance in life. Nevertheless, I am always interested in meeting accomplished, like-minded and interesting people. I enjoy thoughtful conversations, ask a lot of questions, eager to learn and share my own knowledge and life experience.

Regarding my personal qualities, I prefer evaluation by others. I enjoy being optimistic, cheerful, easy going and helpful to others in any way I can. I am very curious, eager to learn and be knowledgeable in many subjects. I believe in “shared economy” and do share in practice that I have with others: from my house accommodation to the provision sporting equipment such as bicycles skis etc. I enjoy to inspire people to be happier, healthier, more outgoing and sportive. We are surrounded by limitless opportunities to be so in mind and a real life. It is just a matter of realization, trying and doing!:)

Alex

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To enjoy cultural interaction, exchange of travel experiences and finding new friends.

Interests

  • 1 active & healthy lifestyle
  • 2 helping & inspiring people
  • 3 resource sharing
  • 10 handiwork
  • 4 learning & teaching
  • 5 positive thinking
  • 6 world exploration
  • 7 ghost & abandoned places exploration
  • 8 business and entrepreneurship
  • 9 inventions & improvement
  • 11 all terrain cycling
  • 12 cross county skiing
  • 13 swimming & snorkeling
  • 14 running
  • 15 roller blading
  • 16 hiking
  • 17 hardening & body endurance
  • 18 quality nutrition & home cooking
  • 19 nature & wildlife photography

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I am very open minded and listen to many genres of music. I particularly enjoy positive and energetic
music with upbeat vibes and good lyrics. When doing sports, I often listen to 90s Eurodance on my TuneInRadio online radio station App.

Movies: I am into educational or topical based contents which makes me learn new things. I don't admire or watch action movies or anything coarse or violent. I consider such forms of entertainment as insensible, unhuman and inhumane.

Books: I don't read much books in its traditional sense, even though, I do have my home office book library. Mind you, I enjoy going to Chapters/Indigo book store to browse through some books and magazines. Most of my reading is research based and is online.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Most memorable (as of now): Unique, 3000km Circle of Iceland expedition: I converted a rental car into "mini camper" to travel, live, sleep and cook in the car at most stunning locations such as mountains, glaciers, waterfalls, hot-springs etc. I upload my photo collections of my trips for online viewing and sharing. If you like to see them, let me know!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am very interested in meeting like-minded, interesting and accomplished, people. I enjoy thoughtful conversations, ask a lot of questions, eager to learn and share my own knowledge and life experience.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am very versatile and knowledgeable in many topics and fields. I enjoy sharing my life and travel experiences and make in-person photo presentation of my trips around the world. I can uncover some of my secrets of navigation and trip planning which I use and perfected over many years.

Having background and experience in Landscaping/Home improvement/Handyman projects, I will be glad to share some of my tips and know-how around your home or property.

I like to cook, share meals and snacks which I bring with me in most of my trips. From Dutch cheese to Belgium chocolate, I to take time to enjoy tasty and healthy nutrition ether at home or while travelling.

As a bicycle enthusiast and a mechanic, I am delighted to be helpful with anything bike related, from bike tune up to an advice. If you have bicycle/s, and would like to check it out, let me know. I will gladly can bring some bike tools from my home garage workshop and tune up your bike!:)

People are welcome to join me on my sightseeing, nature or sport trips which I plan and organize. I can bring with me an extra bicycle, pair of skis, other sports or camping equipment for use and enjoyment.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Cuba, France, Germany, Iceland, Luxembourg, Netherlands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Netherlands, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.