Alessandro Maiochi's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alessandro’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 28 References 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning French
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Mental traveler
  • Currently studying environmental and sanitary engineering...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Explore new ways of relating ourselves with the environment, structuring a pool of knowledge and believes that can truthly guide me to a higher perception of life.

ABOUT ME

I`m a introspective and expansive person. I like to talk and develop thoughts and ideas. I`m a very racional focus person, meaning that I`m always working with words to express my feelings and to understand other people.
I`m a hardworking guy, always looking for ways to improve myself and my work, usually by overcomming the tasks I`m responsable of and increasing the level of responsability I`m managing at the moment.
My goal is to put myself into conditions of been autonomous, developing a business from scratch. In order to do so I`m in constant search for interesting people to compose my social cicles, afterall. You can only grow as big as your friends and family can.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe is possible to build a new and sutainable culture, by sharing thoughts and emotions, where the most valuable thing is the mistical energy that live organisms create from the natural elements.
Create and participate of universal fraternal movements where people of good faith and will can get together and feel part of something bigger.
Consolidate sutainable consumption, the rapprochement of humans and nature, the transdisciplinarity, the pure experience of living and sharing life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When I travel I like to stay some time at a place, 2 or 3 days at least so I can organize what I will do next, usually I keep in touch with the local CS community to arrange events or just to gather people to visit tourist attractions.

I usually don`t make plans too far ahead, so when I arrive at some city I will probably take some of my time to decide where I will go next.

I like to cook, to learn and share vegan recipes. I believe food is one of the best things we can share with someone so related activities are a good way to spend some time with me.

Lastly I must "warn" that I really enjoy a good discussion on a deep talk about almost everything. I may not have a lot of knowledge about specific topics, but I am sure able to follow almost any matter through rational thinking and natural curiosity.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've done a 40 days backpack trip through Uruguay, Argentina and Chile.
I was my first CS experiences, and the same was for some of my hosts.
In this field of uncertainty a light has lighted up and I was very fortuned to know incredible people that hosted me. Some of them I still keep contact.
It is amazing how life sometimes surprises you by giving exactly what you need and not necessarily what you want.

Interests

Cook
Talk
Walk

Trekking
and hiking
Camping
Tabletop games
Healthy lifestyle
Veganism
Environmental Sciences
Exoterism
Tarot
Psychology (Typology)
Philosophy (Epistemology)

  • arts
  • environment
  • cooking
  • vegan
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • business
  • engineering
  • psychology

Music, Movies, and Books

Howl`s moving castle, Lord of the rings, The it, The cube, Princess Mononuke Attack on Titans

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

K, just some quick facts related to my experiences that could be ice breaking topics...

I`ve done a 40 days backpack trip through Uruguay, Argentina and Chile with a US$ 10,00 tent. I`ve crossed deserts, camped on several beaches and yes, climbed and camped at Acongágua, at Andes.

I`ve done "several" rafting courses, but I never went to a course level higher then 4 yet. The best river I paddled on was the Mendoza river that was pure brown water because of the defrost of the Andes.

I am a scout, away from my group activities for some time for now, but as we say, once scout, always a scout. I`ve joined the movement when I was 18 yrs old and it was one of the best things I`ve every done.

I`ve also participated on the students movements at my university, and I stood about 3 years at a junior enterprise of environmental and sanitary engineering where I had the opportunity to work as president for one year.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like manual crafting despite of my poor skills, lol. I can teach someone how to make a wallet from milk boxes though.

I`m very interested in permaculture and related topics. I`ve studied and applied knowledges of green building at some natural communities.

I was a member of the Scout movement from 18-21 years old. I still consider myself a scout because some of the deepest and self revealing experiences I had so far are related to their activities. I can share some camping stories and even helping to set a camp somewhere after a hike.

I`m a environmental engineering student. I`m already at my fifth and last year of studies, I will study at University of Birmingham for the next year some modules of Environmental Sciences to further improve myself as a professional. So I can definitely share what I`ve learn so far.

I am also a huge worksheet fan, I started studying MS Excel during my college years mostly for fun, but I started to develop more complex and useful sheets, so I decided to study more about VBA programming and finally began to not only study but also teach Excel to the engineering students at my university. So far I`ve accumulated more than 100 hours of courses I offered to classes from 8 to 30 students. I also developed some solutions for masters colleges and even some banking sheets. So if you like excel or need a hand on that, I`m here for you!

Lastly (so this don`t get too long. I`m a vegetarian in transition to veganism. I`ve been accumulating some skill on the art of cooking and I believe I can provide good and alternative veggie and vegan foods. I will be more than happy to share "my" "vegan cheese" recipe with everyone. (not mine actually, but what is trully ours anyway, right?)

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Mozambique, Netherlands, Scotland, Uruguay, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, England

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Alessandro’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups