Alison Harrison's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alison’s full profile.

Overview

  • 31 references 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 69, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • Retired
  • GCE 'A' Levels, Certificate of Education
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To have a happy and varied life, filled with fun.

ABOUT ME

Alison spent a lifetime teaching primary children and has two adult children. Bob had a career in administration.

PHILOSOPHY

Smile, for things could be worse.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

travel the world, meet interesting people and spread cultural understanding. The best way to visit another place is to stay with a local resident.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We enjoy hosting and surfing, and have met some wonderful people who we now class as friends. We have hosted couch-surfers from Germany, Madrid, Dublin, California, Canada, Poland, France ...and been hosted in France,Madrid, Fez, Paris, Vancouver Island and Seattle.

Interests

Badminton club, swim in community pool, cycling club, sea kayaking, scuba diving instructor, running, yoga, painting, oboe, sight seeing, experiencing different cultures and meeting interesting people. Also red wine and tapas of course. Alison is also a great cook. We both enjoy ‘trying’ to learn Salsa and Bachata.

  • wine
  • yoga
  • traveling
  • painting
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • swimming
  • badminton
  • languages
  • sightseeing

Music, Movies, and Books

Alison enjoys reading and is a boff on gardening and classical music and plays oboe and paints. Favourite film - "4 Weddings and a Funeral". Bob is a "Trekkie", favourite films are "Wizard of Oz", "Oliver" and "Titanic". He likes 60s and 70s pop and learning French and Spanish.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

We worked as volunteers with baboons on an animal sanctuary near Cape Town, staying in a colonial house. Later we stayed on a Herero farmstead with no water or electricity following a car accident.

Teach, Learn, Share

Languages - we are learning French and Spanish and trained in Madrid to teach English. We do involve ourselves with intercambio sessions in our local area, exchanging English and Spanish.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Experiences and stories.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, China, France, Luxembourg, Morocco, Namibia, South Africa, Sweden, Taiwan, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Alison’s full profile.

My Groups