Ali Jennings's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ali’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Polish, Swedish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Online English Teacher
  • In the words of my university professor: We're all still ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Born and raised in the UK, I left that land a long time ago and have spent the past few years living in Central Europe. If I'm not travelling, I'm usually thinking about it.

I would say I'm pretty sociable, I like hanging out in pubs and putting the world to rights (not so keen on clubs and fancy bars though; I'm an underground, dingy pub sort of person); however, I also like solitude sometimes (I am a writer, so goes with the territory), so I try to balance the two.

I love travelling and being on the road is the only time I actually feel fully comfortable in myself. I also love writing, having worked as a journalist and am currently working on some fiction stuff. Other things I like include photography, learning languages, going to watch ice hockey games, stand up comedy, playing board games, and lots and lots of other stuff.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like meeting new people as I'm a pretty curious sort of person and like to ask lots of questions and get to know others. I also feel that staying with local people in the area helps to also get to know the place better.

Unfortunately, as I currently live in the hostel I have been helping out for the past few months, I can't host people, but I can meet up for a beer. I also take an active part in the Couchsurfing scene here, going to monthly meetings. Last month I cooked Thai food for the event.

Interests

Music, films, travel, reading, writing, meeting new people, board games, politics, wine, history, cooking and food (just getting into it, actually), ice hockey, ice skating, snooker, photography, language learning.

  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • politics
  • news
  • movies
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • teaching
  • history
  • journalism

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Gogol Bordello, Reel Big Fish, Flogging Molly, Divine Comedy, Muse, The Feeling, Fall Out Boy, Enej, Poparzeni Kawą Trzy, Pollaponk, plus loads more.

Films: just a selection... Pan's Labyrinth, Vera, The Painted Veil, Pierrepoint, V For Vendetta, The Lobster, Inside I'm Dancing, Frida, Sylvia, Edward Scissorhands, The Decoy Bride, etc. etc.

Books: maybe I can name some authors instead? JK Rowling, Marian Keyes, Joanne Harris, Mark Haddon, plus others.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sorry, but can't just pick one.

Viking sauna in Sweden. Met a wildlife documentary maker at the top of a mountain in Montenegro. Saw Angkor Wat at sunrise. White-water rafted in Malaysia. Sailed down the Nile on a traditional Egyptian sailboat. And so on and so on...

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm an EFL teacher, so if you need help with your English, including things like grammar and punctuation, I can help you with that.

I have also recently discovered that I'm not too bad in the kitchen, so I could also cook for you.

Also, I'm extremely interested in news and politics, so I would be very interested in learning about your country's social and political issues, and I can tell you about mine in return.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would like to share my travel experiences in exchange for yours (I'm always interested in comparing experiences and hearing about new places for me to go).

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Montenegro, Poland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Italy, Poland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Ali’s full profile. It’s free!