Alia Jeraj's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alia’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Gujarati, Italian, Spanish, Wolof
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Educator // Artist
  • BA in Music & Gender, Women's, and Sexualities Studies
  • From Minneapolis, MN, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Educator // Advisor at an alternative high school

Artist : Vocalist // Singer // Writer // Performer

I spent my childhood in Hawaii developing an immense love for the ocean that I am currently trying to reconcile with my devotion to the landlocked Twin Cities. I'm a firm believer in alternative education models, and the importance of arts within education. I've been known to sing in operas, puppet shows, and folk bands, but am currently exploring the music I want to be creating.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Part of my love of traveling comes from meeting other travelers and people with similar hearts and different perspectives. I've couchsurfed in Tulum, Mexico and Giverny, France, and hope to do much more!

Interests

  • arts
  • singing
  • dancing
  • beer
  • coffee
  • farmers' market
  • yoga
  • walking
  • gardening
  • music
  • hiking
  • beaches
  • nature
  • farming

Music, Movies, and Books

One Hundred Years of Solitude. Toni Morrison. Octavia Butler. Kathleen Collins. Valeria Luiselli. The Salt Roads. What's Not Yours is Not Yours. I'll Tell You in Person. Isabelle Allende.

Very into exploring local music and art and literature.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spent six weeks in a small village in Senegal working with a group of women to harvest oysters. Every week we went out to the mangroves, walking out into the ocean, crawling through the mangrove roots, and digging in the sand for shellfish. I spoke French and a little bit of Wolof, but they insisted on teaching me Serer, so we communicated mostly through miming and laughter.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm happy to help out with anything around the house -- cooking, cleaning, gardening! I have lots of stories, but also big ears to listen to yours. Singing and making music with people is one of my favorite things(:

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, England, France, Gambia, Greece, India, Italy, Kenya, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Spain, Uganda

Countries I’ve Lived In

Senegal, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alia’s full profile.