Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see ALICE’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, German; learning Arabic, French, Hebrew (modern), Latin, Russian, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2004
  • traveller trying to fit back in...well, kind of trying
  • Educated? Me?
  • From Perschenegg, Lower Austria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


continuing on my path which seems to be the right one


I'm a dreamer who thinks too much, a planner just to throw everything over bord when the time is right, I'm easy-going, open-minded and always eager to learn something new.
And every year there's a day or two when I'm really bad-tempered for no obvious reason, lock myself up in my apartment and don't want to talk to anyone. But I guess that's alright :)


no worries - she'll be right, mate!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I *am* a couchsurfer - that's how I participate.

I'm the City Ambassador for Canberra, Australia, having lots of fun fulfilling my 'duties' and eager to make the Australian capital as active a CS destination as the Austrian capital, where I started as a rookie in 2005.

More precisely, I organise our monthly meetings, welcome new CSers all over Australia (and the rest of the world if there's time) and try to keep up with the lively discussions that are going on in the (mainly) Australian groups I'm a member of.
I'm also mostly responsible for the Canberra wiki:


I've hosted, I've surfed and I ran into a guy in Buenos Aires that I'd met at a gathering in Vienna half a year earlier (and finally got him to cook Indian food for me - an opportunity I'd missed in Vienna)


I do tend to get bored easily (attention span of a pumpkin) so I try to always occupy myself with at least one of the following: travelling, photography, food (growing, cooking, eating), meeting interesting people, different kinds of sport (scuba and free diving, horse riding, skiing, hiking, inline skating, volleyball, dancing, swimming - you name it), movies, books etc. Or I just hang out somewhere, lazy as broccoli :)

And yes, I *do* talk to myself...

Music, Movies, and Books

TV series: Scrubs, Sex and the City, CSI (ONLY Las Vegas), The West Wing, NCIS is growing on me, and of course The Simpsons

movies: Alegria, Moulin Rouge, Whale Rider, Pirates of the Caribb., Shawshank Redemption, Was nützt die Liebe in Gedanken, Lost in Translation (because it's so wonderfully slow), Les Invasion Barbares, classics

books: Salman Rushdie's novels, the Potters, LOTR, the Hitchhiker trilogy, The Prophet, a Bill Bryson for a relaxing day off, all kinds of travel-related literature (my fix when I'm at home), German and English classics (have yet failed to finish "Ulysses" though)

and many many more

music: Lifehouse, Crowded House, Missy Higgins, Powderfinger, Sandi Thom, The Killers, Muse, R.Williams, U2

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

create your own visited countries map
or vertaling Duits Nederlands

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: swimming, scuba diving (theory only though as I'm not qualified as an instructor), dancing (ballroom and latin, especially salsa), languages... generally, I know bits and pieces about a lot of things. Just ask!

Learn: I'm always willing to learn new things. Anything really. I'd love to learn more about wine, especially red wine.

Share: food - what about a big cook-up? bush walking

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Cambodia, Chile, China, Croatia, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Jordan, Laos, Latvia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Austria

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    19 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see ALICE’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups