Olesya Valger's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Olesya’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning German, Italian
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Like a bee on weekdays, like a butterfly at weekends.
  • I'm a college graduate, English major.
  • From Novosibirsk, Russia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

See the world and bring it home!

ABOUT ME

I was born on a cold November night, in Siberia, in the middle of nowhere. That's the most interesting thing about my childhood. I'm a college graduate, English major. After college I worked as a teacher of English for a year, then spent a year in the US on the Fulbright program, teaching Russian at Grinnell college, IA. Now I am back in Novosibirsk. I work at a teacher Training University and also have a part-time job as an English teacher for EF.
I'm eager to get all the experience I can, to visit all the cities, to breathe all the winds...

PHILOSOPHY

Oh... You can't ask such a question to a Russian and expect a short answer!)
I try to be open, energetic, enthusiastic, responsible, strong, to meet every challenge, to help everyone, to love everyone.
I want to bring prosperity to my family, friends and country.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I hosted people a couple of times, and I found several friends here (we travelled together during the winter break, staying in cheap hostels - a big funny company!)
I'm always happy to meet new people who come to visit Novosibirsk. Unfortunately, I cannot host now, but I can be a good guide around the city and know a lot about its history.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I stayed in Moscow, Saint-Petersburg, Boston, New Haven, Washington DC on the similar basis, but it was not with this website.

Interests

Books, especially fiction and mystery.
Traveling, especially in good company.
Politics, especially local.
Animals, especially horses, dogs, cats and others. I'm a vegetarian.
Wildlife, especially forests. I haven't seen mountains yet.
Cooking, especially baking.
People, especially you.

  • animals
  • cats
  • dogs
  • wildlife
  • horses
  • books
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • politics
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • teaching
  • history
  • tourism
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Arthouse movies mostly; + enjoy Harry Potter; adore Lord of the Rings; admire Amelie.

All possible kinds of books existing.

Any music, especially rock one.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I saw a newborn horse baby. I think that's enough to say "I lived an inspired life".

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share tasty and simple Russian recipes; I can bring with me a fresh air from my enormous country.

I can't bike. That's my inferiority object I want to get rid of.

Countries I’ve Visited

Russian Federation, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Russian Federation, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Olesya’s full profile. It’s free!