Lici Blackburn's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lici’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Japanese, Sign Language - American
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • University student
  • Anthropology/theater student
  • From Winter Haven, Florida, United States
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

I'm Lici, I'm a 22 year old college student in my final year of study. I'm graduating with a major in Anthropology and minor in Theatre. My thesis is kicking my butt at the moment.

I love to travel, partially because my family is from all over. I grew up in Florida with my family, but I was born in Quebec, where my mother grew up; she was from Glasgow where her mum was from while her dad wa from a rural village in Poland; so we're a multi-generational family of footloose wanderers. My dad, whose family has been in the South US for a couple hundred years, is also inclined to travel, but for the opposite reason. He just wants to get out of Florida!

I've travelled a bit in the US-- to Alaska, the Carolinas, Tennessee, Maine-- and I've stopped back in on Quebec multiple times growing up. I recently spent a semester studying in London, and had the chance to travel to Edinburgh for a weekend and then hostel hop for two weeks around Western Europe with some good friends. It was such a great experience, one I'd love to do again and again.

One country I've always wanted to visit is Japan. It's been a special interest of mine growing up, since I am really fascinated by the country's history, geography, the Japanese language, Japanese cuisine. I hope I can travel there one day soon, and perhaps spend a year or two living abroad in Japan so I can experience it the same way I experienced life in London (see: three parts confusion, two parts terror, infinite joy.)

Otherwise, I am very interested in traveling across Europe, South and East Asia, maybe Oceania.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I really hope that, once I'm free of college and being held in one place, I'll be able to travel and couchsurf. I think it'd be very interesting to meet people in the places they live and experience the spaces they live in, how they live in them, their language, manners, food. I want to have a wider experience of people and life.

Interests

I love to talk about food, share food, make food, eat food. I'm a big consumer of film and scifi as well as music. I have been vegetable gardening for years how my father taught me, and I could talk for hours about gardening. I love portrait drawing, vintage or antique books, languages and linguistics, and learning about new or unfamiliar cultures. I really enjoy being outside; natural beauty is one of the biggest draws for me in traveling, and many of the places I'd like to see, the geography plays a huge role in it. I play the piano and sing, with an interest in New Orleans style jazz and Appalachian folk.

  • books
  • singing
  • beauty
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • gardening
  • flowers
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • knitting
  • drawing
  • music
  • jazz
  • piano
  • anthropology
  • geography
  • history
  • languages
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Tuba Skinny and Yes Ma'am are a great listen! I'm also very fond of Daughter, Yann Tiersen's piano pieces, The Cinematic Orchestra, Florence + the Machine, and other odds and ends. Movies and books-- I love fantasy, science-fiction, action, all of that :) Scary movies predictably scare me, but I like to watch them with someone who isn't scared and laugh!

Fave books: The City Not Long After, Fahrenheit 451, The Hobbit, Harry Potter series, So You Want to be a Wizard, anything by Tamora Pierce.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiked a narrow, hedge-lined country road in the Forest of Dean district as the sun was setting. The hills and sky went dark before twinkling alive one by each with stars, the blinking yellow eyes of house windows, and a crescent moon.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to share and learn recipes, as well as gardening of vegetables and flowers. I know some loom knitting and sewing, and can teach how to make charcoal drawings, lead sketches, and water colour portraits. I can share piano, songs, and little pieces of facts in a number of fields-- anthropology, archaeology, history. I'm always open for sharing and learning languages. I can also sing some pretty great songs of the southern and sassy variety.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I will gladly cook a meal for any number of people, clean up dishes or general clutter, and sing as I do so! (I'm quite serious about that last bit. My roommates can attest.)

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Mexico, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lici’s full profile. It’s free!