Eli W.'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Eli’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference
  • Fluent in Arabic, English, French, Louisiana Creole French, Spanish; learning Arabic, Arabic (Egypt), Arabic (Morocco), Arabic (North Levantine), Arabic (Tunisia), Berber, Dari Persian, Hausa, Hungarian, Louisiana Creole French, Russian, Wolof
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Translator & Public Service Language Consultant
  • Middlebury Institute of International Studies @ Monterey ...
  • From Blacksburg, VA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey, so my name's Eli. I'm from the US and I'm a post-grad invitee at the Middlebury Institute of International Studies @ Monterey for Localization Management (Long-tail Dialect Sourcing Extraordinaire).

I'm a linguaphile and an avid traveler! I teach, I translate, I manage, I meet new people, Je couchsurf

I speak English, French and 3amiya (in)discriminately and I'm always learning new languages!

These days, I mostly work on Afroasiatic languages, such as Hausa, Dari, and Aramaic.

Tsalagi Gawonihisdi (Cherokee), Amazigh (Moroccan Berber) and Kurmanji (Northern Kurdish) are of particular interest to me — I'm of Cherokee descent, I will be traveling to Morocco soon and the Kurdish people have always been very kind to me.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

J'aime voyager, j'suis pas riche et j'adore l'anthropologie linguistique et la geographie humaine!

I like to travel, I'm cheap as hell, and I enjoy learning about linguistic anthropology and human geography!

Interests

Je me passionne pour les langues. Par contre, j'aime bien faire tout ce qui est dehors, faire de camping, randonner, faire de canoë, etc. De plus, je joue au foot et de l'Ultimate frisbee!

Languages, Travel, Camping/hiking/general outdoors activities, Football, and Ultimate Frisbee.

  • culture
  • mexican food
  • meditation
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • soccer
  • languages
  • cultures
  • mediterranean food
  • indigenous cultures
  • syrian food

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Blues, Jazz, Folk, and Alternative

Film: J'adore regarder n'importe quel film.
I love watching movies, and I can get into about anything.

Lecture/Books: Je lis pas très souvent dans mon temp libre, mais quand je le fais, mes auteurs préférés sont Jack Kerouac et JD Salinger.
I read less for pleasure than I read for knowledge, but I'm a big Jack Kerouac fan, and J.D. Salinger is up there too for favorite authors.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

J'ai passé du temps en Amérique centrale en voyage lorsque j'enseignais l'anglais aux enfants (3-14). C'était une expérience vraiment géniale, non seulement en découvrant une nouvelle culture, mais aussi en termes d'apprentissage de l'espagnol que j'avais "appris" à l'école, et bien sûr, pour voyager. Il n'y a aucune expérience comme voyager: tout ce dont t'a besoin sur le dos, tout est nouveau et chaque fois que je voyage, j'apprends quelque chose de nouveau sur moi-même: ce que j'aime, ce que j'apprecie dans la vie, ce qui je veux devenir.

I spent a month and a half in Central America traveling and teaching English. It was a great experience, not only for discovering a new culture, practicing Spanish, and traveling, but because of the humbling effect travel has, and the way traveling and immersing yourself in a new culture shows you the things you really value in life.

Teach, Learn, Share

Language (English/ESL, French, Spanish, Arabic, 3amiya)
Culture (Francophone, Hispanic, Arab, Midwestern US, Appalachian US)
Cuisine (Mexican, Nicaraguan, Mediterranean)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Un repas, un verre, une cigarette, toute une vie d'expérimentation.. Une conversation bilingue, comme tu veux.

A meal, a drink, a cigarette, a lifetime of experiences. An amusing conversation in French, Spanish, or English.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Germany, Honduras, Hungary, Mexico, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Nicaragua, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Eli’s full profile.