Logo orange

Aline Ramos

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Aline's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 19 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Portuguese; learning Italian, Latin, Spanish, Swedish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Philosophy PhD Student / teaching as...
  • B.A. in Philosophy, B.Ed. in Philoso...
  • From Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To take over the world, one language at a time

ABOUT ME

Before moving to Montreal, I lived in Sao Paulo (Brazil), Berlin (Germany) and New York (USA), so I'm definitely a city person (or an enthusiastic "urbanite", to be more precise).

Personality-wise, I am an export-only, ten-fingered Margot Tenenbaum.

Academically, I'm kind of a nerd. I collect university degrees. Got two in Portuguese (Philosophy B.A. and B.Ed.), in Brazil, two in English (MA in Philosophy and Ethics & Society), in the U.S., and am getting one in French (Philosophy PhD), in Montreal.

Now, in spite of all the above, I'm really not that weird. There's the 1% of us out there who is actually normal. I promise.

Now, these are the places I've been to:
visited 25 states (11.1%)Create your own visited map of The World or Triposo world travel guide for Android

I've also traveled quite a lot (but not enough) within the US:
visited 17 states (34%)Create your own visited map of The United States or website vertaling duits?

And then I also traveled through most of the Brazilian coast:
visited 13 states (48.1%)Create your own visited map of Brazil

PHILOSOPHY

I am a lover of beauty, and I seek virtue, above all.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host, I surf. The works.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far, I hosted quite a few surfers:

Narayana Alves, from Brazil (in Montreal, April 2011)
Denis Placette and his wife, Laurence, from France (in Montreal, September 2011)
Adam and his sister, from Australia (in Montreal, February 2012)
Cleber and Paula Figueiredo, from Brazil (in Montreal, March 2012)
Stefanie Juell, from the USA (in Montreal, April 2012)
Yu-Jen, from Taiwan (in Montreal, April 2012)
Elisabeth Mendes, from Belgium (in Montreal, May 2012)
Marc Barei, from Toronto (in Montreal, September 2012)
Frédéric Merme and Guillaume, from France(in Montreal, October 2012)
Jael Potterie, from France (in Montreal, October 2012)

And I was hosted by these amazing people:
Elena Lerín (Ottawa, February 2011)
Benoit Martel (Québec City, March 2011)
Lucy (Toronto, October 2011)
Joel Beaupre (Ottawa, April 2012)

I've also met some couchsurfers around the world (at CS events, for instance).

All of it has been great!

Interests

Languages. I'm obsessed with learning foreign languages. But not just learning the basics. I like being fully proficient in them because, why not? (Too bad these days I don't get to practice them as much as I would like to...)

I also read. A lot. I love anything related to the arts (films - not simply "movies" -, photography, sculpture, music etc.) and culture. I love gastronomy, in general. And stout beers, especially Guinness or anything that comes from a local brewery. And music. I love music (almost anything from Beethoven to DJ Tiesto).

Sport-wise, I'm a fan of pilates, and I also jog & run (I usually do 5K races; trying to move on to 10K). Yoga? No, thanks.

I'm generally engaged in environmental causes. I do volunteer work for a number of organizations dealing with environment and sustainability. Food ethics is one of my greatest passions. Even tough I am not a vegetarian, most of the stuff you'll eat at my place will be organic, fair-trade, and GMO-free.

I am all for a sustainable world and the REAL good things in life.

Music, Movies & Books

Scandinavian movies are really my thing. I am also a big fan of Austrian director Michael Haneke. In general, I tend to prefer European to American movies (esp. mainstream American movies).

I'm obsessed with British Pop/Rock (esp. the 1980s). American alt rock from the 1990s are my next passion. And indie rock.

I obviously read a lot of philosophy (for "work"), but literature is my second biggest passion in life. All-time fave books include: Jeffrey Eugenides' "Middlesex", Nicole Krauss' "The History of Love", Thomas Bernhard's "Der Untergeher", Albert Camus' "L'Étranger".

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I've worked as a volunteer translator (English-French) at the United Nations, in NYC.

Also: I started flying solo across the world when I was 2 years old (for real!).

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Paraguay, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Venezuela

Countries I've Lived In

Brazil, Canada, Germany, Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Aline's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile