Alison Scott's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alison’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 50, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • work full time in Health promotion and when I can I garde...
  • Qualified in 1990 as a nurse but life is my education and...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

make people smile and laugh although I cannot remember jokes.To share my love of travel and the outdoors.Just moved house , so now near a town and train station.

ABOUT ME

Spent alot of my life nursing so enjoy being with outdoor minded people. Active member of different clubs - Badminton and Mountaineering clubs. I teach swimming and used to teach First aid courses. I have good long term friends from school and from the different areas where I used to live. Family and friends important. new contracts every 6-8 mnths at present working n Nottingham ,which is a great city.. not sure what will happen next in 2017
I enjoy music, theatre,the sounds of water whether by the seaside or a running river. A CS wrote re running barefoot in the sand or paddling in a river and i can relate to that. my husband is the calmer, relaxed one and I am the planner and doer. Both enjoy travel and people.

PHILOSOPHY

Wake up and smile. Try to treat everyone kindly .Life is precious so have new experiences and go places. Used to nurse so aware of the frailty of our health. the world has sadness and beauty around we just need the eyes to see it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

All have been very successful . we live in Chesterfield now just moved!! near Sheffield, over hour to Derby. We live in a town not near manchester airport sorry. Get lots of requests.
Updated this year as moved house Had few couch surfers last year, as moved jobs a lot and lack of time.Had good experiences with them all although recently a few have dropped out so that was a shame .I work full time so have not joined any local CS events yet.
great experiences with everybody who stayed.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Great experience sharing food jokes and travel stories. my recent one helped clean the chimney as he was a trained sweep. Having some guests from the USA in june 2013 none this year so far . hope t start by having people to stay soon

Interests

Loads of interests . trying as many different things as possible before I turn 50. . Used to having alot of space around so miss my big garden.. Used to sail in a dingy as a child and occasionally yachts .I love a good book/ music or film. Having people around for a meal is like an extended family. recently started running and doing 10k fun runs
Interests foreign places ,the countryside.. Music used to play in an orchestra, but not played my flute for over 02 years sad always explore life, countries abroad - I enjoy sculptor modern and old, architecture, history, both abroad and in UK.
friends and family are important.

  • birds
  • fish
  • books
  • architecture
  • beauty
  • diy
  • dining
  • running
  • instructor
  • walking
  • clubbing
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • canoeing
  • camping
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • badminton
  • history
  • nursing
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

All kinds of music and books. Like the radio but not first thing in the morning the quiet is precious. Any book that a person recommends try new stuff. If I can get to the theatre or live events or dance music that lasts a life time.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sailed in Scotland,Rock climbed in europe and Jordan Been to India with a charity and worked alongside the local people. Camped wild in Africa as we tried to climb Mount Kenya but there was too much snow.
Seen wonderful sunrise and sunset. heard a loon bird echo across a lake in Canada when canoeing in the evening. saw akingfisher , birds of prey catch a fish and woke up in a desert camping wild. danced for pure joy and raced the wind along a beach. walked alot in the mountains and enjoy the wintery scenery and challenges of snow

Teach, Learn, Share

All sorts, used to travel,Europe alittle in India and once in Africa.I have stayed in youth hostels, basic mountain huts, a tent and have a very warm sleeping bag. I still teach a times swimming, First aid courses and have been an outdoor instructor . sharing a humanist view and started to go to quakers meeting house shared values on life and people.

What I Can Share with Hosts

being interested in people and humanity . can share our food and our house and garden . most important is time and fun

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, India, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Alison’s full profile. It’s free!